...

View Full Version : Can exec Run a Continuous Program?



thesmart1
06-29-2007, 04:46 AM
Can exec be used to start an exe program that's supposed to run continuously (so that it only stops if I delete it from the server)?

thesmart1
07-01-2007, 11:49 PM
Or is there another way to do this? (I only have FTP access to the server.)

meth
07-01-2007, 11:58 PM
With only FTP access, there's not much chance of running an exe as a service. I'd say very few hosting providers would allow an exe to be run at any time.

thesmart1
07-02-2007, 12:01 AM
I'd say very few hosting providers would allow an exe to be run at any time.

I'd still like to try lol. I have several hosting providers in mind, including one seemingly easy-going paid one that I'm currently using.

thesmart1
07-03-2007, 10:08 PM
I tried exec, and it doesn't work. proc_open looks like it might work, but I don't understand the "descriptorspec" and "pipes" parameters...



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum