View Full Version : Hardcoding dropdown menu WIDTH

12-19-2002, 07:48 PM
I've tired searching for the answer first but anyhow...

I would like to know if it's possible to hardcode a specific width of a drop down menu?

One of the options/titles in the drop-down menu is very-y long so the drop-down extends the entire length of the box..

We don't want it wider then 450px MAX

So... can this be done? and/or can you 'wrap' a title?

Help :D

12-19-2002, 08:44 PM
hmmm, I am not sure if it will work (no time to check) but have you tried the CSS property max-width?

::] krycek [::

12-19-2002, 08:51 PM
im not sure that max-width is supported yet though

12-19-2002, 09:36 PM
I'm going to try searching for this (though nothing as of yet), but is there an attribute I can use within the form/option tag itself?

I know using CSS is good but this is the only place where this problems occurs is with this one drop-down menu (which BTW, you select from a list of options and then 'go').

We've tried width="" and max-width="" and maxwidth=""

Thanks for any help in the meantime :)

12-19-2002, 11:16 PM
well, max-width is CSS only so nope it will not work as an attribute (unless inside a style attribute).

I am not sure that overflow would apply to a select/option element, but you could try overflow: hidden (the attribute would be style="overflow: hidden")

Other than that I am not sure

::] krycek [::

12-20-2002, 03:55 AM
speaking of CSS why not use that?

<select style="width:300px;">

that would not wrap though...

12-20-2002, 02:29 PM
Well, I've passed these points onto the person responsible/taking care of the drop-down...

Will let all know what or if it works

Thanks :)