View Full Version : Netscape 7 CSS Bug

12-17-2002, 02:07 PM
I am working on making our product compatible to Netscape 7.01 I have hit one issue which probably many of you would have come across. The issue is when you specify a "width" style for the select box the higlighting does not extend to the total width but appears to be variable according to each item (options) in the select box. If you have come across this issue and resolved it let me know.

Here is the code snippet:
<SELECT style="WIDTH: 80px" NAME="ABARoutingNumberRow1" onChange='validate(this)' >
<OPTION VALUE ="-----------" SELECTED>
<OPTION VALUE="111111118" >111111118
<OPTION VALUE="222222226" >222222226

The style="Width:80px" causes the above mentioned problem. The problem does not occur if I use a % for width.

???Is there any other style information that I need to use along with the width in order to resolve this or Is it a Netscape 7 bug.

12-17-2002, 02:15 PM
Hmmm, I will firstly do some woffleing...

Netscape 7 is based on Mozilla, however it is Mozilla 1.0.1 and not the latest, Mozilla 1.2.1.

Therefore you may want to check out Bugzilla to see if what you are describing was a bug in Mozilla 1.0.1. Version 1.2.1 does not seem to suffer from the problem you are describing.

I would recommend that you use Mozilla 1.2.1 for testing as opposed to Netscape 7, because Netscape will continue to upgrade NN, but they lag behind the latest Mozilla builds.

::] krycek [::

12-17-2002, 02:51 PM
Well it does happen on Mozilla 1.2.1 also.

I will try to figure out if this has been posted on Bugzilla if not I will post it.

12-17-2002, 03:58 PM
Yeah it sounds like a rendering bug to me.

But FYI - although you may prefer to use Mozilla yourself (I do), I would advise you use Netscape 7 as your test browser; the whole point of browser testing is to find out how stuff behaves in the browsers people actually use.

12-17-2002, 04:05 PM
hmmm odd... I was unable to reproduce the problem :confused:

donygp, can you post the code you are using and a screenshot of what is happening, because I am not sure what is supposed to be going wrong?

and yes brothercake is correct that you should test in NN as well, however by testing in Moz at least you know where NN is going :D

::] krycek [::

12-17-2002, 07:01 PM
Originally posted by krycek
by testing in Moz at least you know where NN is going :D

By testing in Moz you know where NN should be going ... but probably won't get to before Moz has moved on long ago ...

12-17-2002, 07:48 PM
hehehe very true and exactly my point

::] krycek [::