...

View Full Version : meta tags problem



thomas18
06-08-2007, 08:45 AM
hello everyone
I am a NOVICE in web design,coding etc etc. I have a web site (www.diivino.com)but I am not getting traffic to it. I designed it playing around with DW and FLASH,someone else did the coding, I have trusted him,but know after some web checks I am realizing that there are many errors in the meta tags area. Could you please have a look at it and perhaps tell me how can I fix them.

Thank you in advance for all your help

thomas

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-08-2007, 09:04 AM
Can you elaborate on what errors you think there are? From what I can tell they aren't lowercase and they aren't closed properly either.

ahallicks
06-08-2007, 09:12 AM
Two things I notice from first glance:

- You don't need all of those meta tags. Realistically the only two important ones are the name and description of you web site. You can add the author if you wish, but it's not needed and won't increase traffic.

- You don't use any of your specified key words on your pages! I have a tool that will give statistics on your site, and it suggests you should use all of your key words in at least 2% of your sites' content. Your most abundant key word is only 1% of your content... the rest are between 0.5% and 0. I'd consider changing these to more appropriate phrases that you use both in your site and to describe it. Try changing the content to better describe your web site too.

The biggest part of ranking in search engines (and therefore to increase traffic) is linking and advertising on other decently ranked (and linked) web sites. When google, in particular, crawls your pages and gives them a rank it looks for external links to pages of the same nature that have a high page rank and lots of affiliates. You need to get out there and start advertising partner sites and getting your links on theirs.

You should also be building valid, and semantic HTML and your page has a LOT of validation errors! I suggest running it through the validator (http://validator.w2.org) and fixing those errors before you do anything. That applies to all of your pages too.

thomas18
06-08-2007, 09:21 AM
Hello
thank you to both of you,
I had a validation from validator.w3.org and FAILED with 189 errors,I went throu the list but because I am not very experienced i don't even know where to start from to fix those errors.
sorry,I also have many css errors reguarding colors but I don't know how to fix them,too.
any hints??

thanks again

thomas

abduraooft
06-08-2007, 09:42 AM
hello everyone
I am a NOVICE in web design,coding etc etc. I have a web site (www.diivino.com)but I am not getting traffic to it.

Thank you in advance for all your help

thomas

Here is an active thread about Search Engin Optimisation

http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=115710

regards,
art.

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-08-2007, 09:45 AM
As I said before you need to make your meta tags all lowercase and close them using /> so something like this

<META HTTP-EQUIV="CONTENT-LANGUAGE" CONTENT="English">
becomes this

<meta http-equiv="content-language" content="English" />
Same goes for the link tags.

<LINK REL=SCHEMA.dc HREF="http://search-engines-web.com/">
The above would be

<link rel="schema.dc" href="http://search-engines-web.com/" />
You also need to use quotes around the values of the attributes. Look those terms up.

thomas18
06-08-2007, 10:09 AM
thank you so much,
how can I change them in all my pages in one time?

thomas18
06-08-2007, 12:00 PM
As I said before you need to make your meta tags all lowercase and close them using /> so something like this

<META HTTP-EQUIV="CONTENT-LANGUAGE" CONTENT="English">
becomes this

<meta http-equiv="content-language" content="English" />
Same goes for the link tags.

<LINK REL=SCHEMA.dc HREF="http://search-engines-web.com/">
The above would be

<link rel="schema.dc" href="http://search-engines-web.com/" />
You also need to use quotes around the values of the attributes. Look those terms up.


thanks to all,
I have made some fixing and I got rid off of 187 errors I have 2 left and I don't have any idea on how to fix them. Here below you can have a look at them:
Error Line 2 column 120: character "/" invalid: only delimiter ">", delimiter "[", "CDATA", "NDATA", "SDATA" and parameter separators allowed.
...R/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"/>✉

Error Line 2 column 120: cannot continue because of previous errors.
...R/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"/>

abduraooft
06-08-2007, 12:54 PM
Its due to

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en"/>

and

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"/>

change them as

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

and

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en">
respectively.

No need to close html tag like this since a </html> closing tag is there

thomas18
06-08-2007, 12:58 PM
One more question,
can I make the same changes on all the pages in one time?
otherwise it would take me for ages.

thomas

thomas18
06-08-2007, 01:03 PM
making those changes I got 52 more errors.

ahallicks
06-08-2007, 01:38 PM
That is because you now have a valid doctype. Before, because your doctype was invalid your page was rendering in quirks mode in IE. You now have to fix those 52 errors that apply to the doctype you have specified!

kewlceo
06-08-2007, 02:11 PM
One more question,
can I make the same changes on all the pages in one time?
otherwise it would take me for ages.

thomas

What editor are you using? If you're on a PC and want to make changes across all of your pages, you can download the freeware editor Notepad++ (http://sourceforge.net/projects/notepad-plus/) then do a search and replace over all of your files at once.

thomas18
06-08-2007, 04:15 PM
What editor are you using? If you're on a PC and want to make changes across all of your pages, you can download the freeware editor Notepad++ (http://sourceforge.net/projects/notepad-plus/) then do a search and replace over all of your files at once.

i am using DW.is that ok for doing the thing u were saying?
thomas

ahallicks
06-08-2007, 04:19 PM
Dreamweaver has a very good search and replace function too. Use Ctrl-F to bring up the search box... copy the old code in to the top part and then type the new code into the bottom, then make sure you click 'Entire Site' in the little drop down box at the top of the window. It'll then do a find and replace for the exact element you asked it to do.

Don't forget to backup first tho!

thomas18
06-08-2007, 04:40 PM
That is because you now have a valid doctype. Before, because your doctype was invalid your page was rendering in quirks mode in IE. You now have to fix those 52 errors that apply to the doctype you have specified!

thats too difficult for me,.....
any help please?
thank you,

ahallicks
06-08-2007, 05:05 PM
It's not very difficult to be honest... all you need to do is bring up the validation page and change the bits that need changing. For example...

'there is no attribute "rights"' - just take out that meta tag
'required attribute "type" not specified' - it should be type="text/javascript, not 'language'
'element does not allow "link" here' - you need to close that tag properly " />"

etc. etc. Go through and if there are any you are stuck with tell us

navyfalcon
06-09-2007, 01:12 AM
Checked several Italian catering services on the internet to see what keywords they were using. Then checked with free keyword suggestion tool "http://www.submitexpress.com/keytracker.php"
Keywords searches
catering 1270
menu 679
Italian 2777
party 6920
parties 1088
weddings 2320
menu foods 3251
Italian food 1933
office party 1404
party supplies 3746
college parties 1097
customer service 1153

hope this helps falcon

navyfalcon
06-09-2007, 01:23 AM
thank you so much,
how can I change them in all my pages in one time?

Try using CSE HTML Validator Lite (free)
"http://www.htmlvalidator.com/"
look under tools
hope this helps falcon

thomas18
06-11-2007, 09:11 AM
hello everyone,

I must have made something very wrong.......my website has turned white.

could you please help me out.

thank you in advance

thomas

ahallicks
06-11-2007, 10:36 AM
Find:


<script type="text/javascript"/>
<!--
function DateStamp() {
var d = new Array(
"Sunday",
"Monday",
"Tuesday",
"Wednesday",
"Thursday",
"Friday",
"Saturday"
);

var m = new Array(
"January",
"February",
"March",
"April",
"May",
"June",
"July",
"August",
"September",
"October",
"November",
"December"
);

var today = new Date();
var day = today.getDate();
var year = today.getYear();
if (year < 2000) year += 1900;
document.write(d[today.getDay()]+", "+m[today.getMonth()]+" "+day+", " + year);
//return d[today.getDay()]+", "+m[today.getMonth()]+" "+day+", " + year;
}
// -->



<link href="css/3col1.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen"/>
<style type="text/css" media="screen"/>
</style>


And change to:



<script type="text/javascript"/>
<!--
function DateStamp() {
var d = new Array(
"Sunday",
"Monday",
"Tuesday",
"Wednesday",
"Thursday",
"Friday",
"Saturday"
);

var m = new Array(
"January",
"February",
"March",
"April",
"May",
"June",
"July",
"August",
"September",
"October",
"November",
"December"
);

var today = new Date();
var day = today.getDate();
var year = today.getYear();
if (year < 2000) year += 1900;
document.write(d[today.getDay()]+", "+m[today.getMonth()]+" "+day+", " + year);
//return d[today.getDay()]+", "+m[today.getMonth()]+" "+day+", " + year;
}
// -->

</script>

<link href="css/3col1.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" />

thomas18
06-11-2007, 10:59 AM
hi ahallicks
thank you very much for the help, now it looks better.
was this for me? "write it for FireFox then hack it for IE." if yes how can I write it for firefox?

thomas

ahallicks
06-11-2007, 11:27 AM
It's for everyone.
It simply means that you should try code your page to look correct in Firefox (the browser that renders most things correctly) and then use hacks, or more professionally 'conditional statements' to sort out any problems you may have in IE.
It is much more difficult to code for IE and then get things working in all the other browsers.

thomas18
06-11-2007, 04:06 PM
is there any tutorial on how to code for FF?

thomas

kewlceo
06-11-2007, 04:15 PM
is there any tutorial on how to code for FF?


Firefox and Opera adhere to the standards much better than IE, so you would just follow any tutorials on (X)HTML/CSS and use FF to test your pages as you develop. After you have things looking the way you want, then test in IE and start battling any bugs you find. :thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum