...

View Full Version : Page missing content in IE6/7 and Safari



vjl
06-04-2007, 10:31 AM
Hi all,

I've been working with a designer on a site that has a mix of CSS and XHTML. I've setup the backend so that it is powered by WordPress. So far, things seem fine, but a CSS-heavy page is not rendering correctly in Safari [Mac OS X 10.4.9], nor IE6 [win2k] or IE7 [xpsp2]. But Firefox 2.0.0.4 for Mac OS X and WinXP and Win2k all render the page ok.

The offending page is at: http://www.hairgalleryone.com/?page_id=31

I've checked with both w3 validators: it is proper xhtml transitional, and CSS passes except for one invalid property.

Perhaps I've been looking at this too long, but I would appreciate any tips/hints in figuring out where the problem lies.

Thanks so much!

/vjl/

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-04-2007, 12:35 PM
IE7 and Firefox 2.0.0.4 look the same here on PC. I think you need to tell us more in detail what the problem is.

vjl
06-04-2007, 12:50 PM
IE7 and Firefox 2.0.0.4 look the same here on PC. I think you need to tell us more in detail what the problem is.

Sorry about that. The left side of the page should have content - 6 150x150px images that when you roll over them, a bubble with text/links appears.

I just noticed that under win2k, FF 1.5.0.12 also renders the same as IE6 - the content on the left side of the screen is...well, missing. Oh! And now, reloading XP up and FF 2.0.0.4, I can see what you mean. But earlier this evening, FF2 was rendering correctly on Windows. :( It is still rendering "correctly" on FF 2.0.0.4 on Mac OS X. I've taken a screenshot of what it's supposed to look like:

http://flickr.com/photos/vjl/529590787/

The window behind the FF2/Mac window is FF2 under XP [via Parallels]. They are both pointing to the same link. Also, the FF2 Mac window scrolls down well below the intended bottom of the page, which has me very confused. Where did I go wrong?

Thanks for any hints!

/vjl/

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-04-2007, 01:21 PM
I think you are seeing a cached version of the page because if you look at the source code via view source you will see this, check out the part in bold. According to the source code there is no content to begin with.

<body>
<div id="container">
<div id="header" onclick="location.href='http://www.hairgalleryone.com';">
<!--blog description-->

</div>
<div class="content-top">
</div>

<!--header.php end--><!--page.php-->

<div id="content">

<!--loop-->


<!--edit link-->

</div>

<!--page.php end-->
<!--include sidebar-->
<div id="sidebar">

vjl
06-04-2007, 01:32 PM
I think you are seeing a cached version of the page because if you look at the source code via view source you will see this, check out the part in bold. According to the source code there is no content to begin with.


Well, that's is then. I'm officially the moron of the week! :) I cleared my cache, restarted FF, etc, and still saw the page. Then I realized from your post that what you [and my other browsers] were seeing was a WordPress page when it is saved as a 'draft'! I had made page_id 31 a draft, so that it was not publicly viewable. The reason I would see it in FF was because I had already logged into the blog and was viewing it as the WP admin.

So....the lesson is: when working in WordPress and you're using the 'draft' feature, make sure all browsers have authenticated to the site so that they can view drafts, otherwise the content of the page will simply not appear.

Thanks very much for the clue-by-four. I really do appreciate it!

/vjl/



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum