View Full Version : Frames and Tables

12-15-2002, 12:30 PM
I do have a huge Table but want to keep the titles when the elevator is used ...

I tried using frame but I am not able to synchronize the widht of cells of the title with the width of cells of the content.

Keep in mind that the top frame has no elevator when the bottom frame has one which take a little place from the right.

Sorry I realize that my english is not as good as it should to ask the question ... I hope that you did understand my problem and may help.

Thanks :confused: :confused: :confused:

12-15-2002, 01:07 PM
I assume by elevator, you mean scrollbar. If that's true, then you can do it with two frames. The trick is to specify the two tables identically (give each cell a specific width and make sure the padding is identical). That should work without a problem. I would define a class for the table cells to specify their dimension and position properties (including margins, padding etc) and make sure the same style is used by both pages.

12-15-2002, 02:32 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi
I assume by elevator, you mean scrollbar.

Thank you Kiwi for your prompt reply.
You are right when you guess I meant scrollbar by elevator (word that we use in french to call it).

I did it already the way you mentioned.
Nevertheless, the scrollbar of the frame (bottom) make my table wider than the one in the top frame.
The reason is that I have to use percentage to be sure that the table will take all the available place whatever the size of the user sreen.

Any comment or idea ?? :thumbsup:

12-15-2002, 03:01 PM
The three solutions I can think of are messy.

One is to force a scrollbar in the top frame. This won't scroll anything -- the top window can stay fixed, but it will make the windows the same width.

The second option is to calculate the scroll-bar width (which is tricky, because it varies from browser to broswer), and put a column at the end of your header table to hold it.

The third is to redo the table sizes as fixed (which could cause other problems).

There may be a trick with <thead> tag that I don't know about, but as far as I can tell, thead hasn't been implemented properly yet.