...

View Full Version : Drop Down Menu



vanilladesign
05-31-2007, 11:15 AM
Hi,

I'm starting on a new website for a client and I've been researching the best way to do drop down menus. I need something that will be compatible with all the major browsers, and is easily customized. If anyone could help that would be great.

TechCyn
05-31-2007, 01:07 PM
Dear Mike,

I have used this drop-down menu and it is:
* easy/fast to implement
* customizable to a nice extent
* suitable for most browsers, specifically FF and IE...
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

Here it is, as I implemented it for a web design course I was testing for my tech class group:
http://www.fragrantjoys.com/RedRoseDesign/lesson14.html

HTH,
Cyn

Hi,

I'm starting on a new website for a client and I've been researching the best way to do drop down menus. I need something that will be compatible with all the major browsers, and is easily customized. If anyone could help that would be great.

VIPStephan
05-31-2007, 01:15 PM
Iím sorry but this dynamic drive menu is just a big pile of crap. If Iím disabling the execution of JavaScript it canít be used at all (except the first level links) and this shows how badly coded this is.

Iím usually using the suckerfish dropdown menu - or its further development Son of the Suckerfish (http://www.htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/). Canít get better than this.

Pennimus
05-31-2007, 01:46 PM
Yeah it's all about son of suckerfish. So clean!

TechCyn
05-31-2007, 01:49 PM
Dear VIPStephan,

Thanks for the link! I will look forward to checking it out.

I had thought that the request was for a simple solution, and the AnyLink works for my simple pages.

But I adore dropdowns, so I look forward to exploring SuckerFish!

Hugs,
Cyn


Iím sorry but this dynamic drive menu is just a big pile of crap. If Iím disabling the execution of JavaScript it canít be used at all (except the first level links) and this shows how badly coded this is.

Iím usually using the suckerfish dropdown menu - or its further development Son of the Suckerfish (http://www.htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/). Canít get better than this.

VIPStephan
05-31-2007, 03:03 PM
Yeah sure, itís simple to copy and paste a free script, and sure, itís workingÖ kind of. Myspace is working too, yet itís a big pile of crap as well. :) We should get away from thinking ďsimple to implement = simple solutionĒ. If I was thinking like that I could just slice up my Fireworks designs and upload them, and I had an easy time creating websites. But that might not be simple for the users.
Even if itís just for personal use, why shouldnít we do a good job right away? Even if it might take a couple of minutes more to implement an accessible dropdown menu it will ensure that everything is in the right place (structure, styling, and scripts separated - interacting with each other but not interfering with each other) and it will be easy to maintain. Thatís what I undertand as a simple solution.

I think the whole Dynamic Drive and Javascriptkit sites could all get a major clean-up. They are just spreading bad code even more. We should all be longing for making the web a better, cleaner place, shouldnít we? :)

glenngv
06-01-2007, 04:08 AM
I like brothercake's Ultimate Dropdown Menu (http://www.udm4.com/). You can even use the arrow keys to navigate the menu.

vanilladesign
06-01-2007, 05:10 AM
Thanks Stephan, this is exactly what I was looking for. I love that it's pure css (except for IE of course).

sprygivesmeache
04-27-2009, 09:42 AM
I have not had much to do with the spry drop down menu feature in Dreamweaver, but thought the Adobe package would have offered a decent product... Is this spry menu option no good either???

P

abduraooft
04-27-2009, 09:50 AM
Is this spry menu option no good either??? The drop down menu tutorial at http://htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/ is a very easy one to follow. It's a CSS based one and has some advantages over a javascript based one.

sprygivesmeache
04-27-2009, 10:04 AM
not so easy for me... ! looks like I have to create code from scratch? no coded file to download!

abduraooft
04-27-2009, 10:17 AM
not so easy for me... ! looks like I have to create code from scratch? no coded file to download!

http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menus/ has a bunch of CSS based menus, you may opt one from them.

stevencummings
04-28-2009, 05:51 AM
Please take a look on following tutorial links which will help you to achieve goal.

www.w3schools.com/
http://www.tizag.com/
http://www.phpsimple.net/

Thanks,
Sports Memorabilia (http://www.allauthentic.com/)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum