...

View Full Version : bad css menu on Safari and Opera only - why?



kb1
05-25-2007, 10:50 PM
Hello
Using aspx server technology (had to at this time - hope to change to php soon) and now same old battle with browsers - the site works OK on all but Safari (mac) and Opera (mac/PC) re: the site's simple menu with fly out. On Safari it's so bad it doesn't show the rollovers, and worse still when you click on the first/top menu item the entire menu disappears!

http://www.truthandlife.info/Default.aspx

Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks much

KB

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-25-2007, 11:06 PM
Can I ask why you are using javascript for the flyout menus? I think you should use the method described here for your menu. You have a better chance of them working properly. http://alistapart.com/articles/horizdropdowns

BTW you don't even need javascript to change the background image of a link.

kb1
05-25-2007, 11:17 PM
Very helpful, thank you as usual - couple of things, the code on the site in my post above, including any javascript, was part of a template from the MS visual studio which someone gave me...I've added and changed some css and colors and many, many things, but the javascript was a part of the original template package. So you're probably right, that's interefering with Safari and Opera.

Now the second deal is being a newbie to css and this asp.net stuff, I wonder where would I find the file with the javascript to remove it? It seems to be added on the server side of things, not sure which file to search through. Any thoughts?

KB

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-25-2007, 11:22 PM
Looks like the scripts are being inserted with one of these two lines

<script src="/WebResource.axd?d=NUoZvo-0d3hS8UZi6iP-Qg2&amp;t=632965646931268385" type="text/javascript"></script>


<script src="/WebResource.axd?d=GHZPit6Sts7vInwzIfijog2&amp;t=632965646931268385" type="text/javascript"></script>
Where those scripts are exactly. I have no idea. You would probably need to look at the server side code for WebResource.axd and find out what the d and t query strings are representing.

kb1
05-25-2007, 11:28 PM
Thanks vey much for your time on this...very helpful...will try to sort this out and post back if still a problem...

KB

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-25-2007, 11:36 PM
Its the second line including the menu script. You can tell by going to the url directly http://www.truthandlife.info/WebResource.axd?d=GHZPit6Sts7vInwzIfijog2&amp;t=632965646931268385

kb1
05-25-2007, 11:52 PM
Great, thank you much - so do I alter this in any way or simply kill the link to this file? Probably have to alter the css a bit too...

KB

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-25-2007, 11:55 PM
Just follow the tutorial I gave you. After removing the javascript you'll need to rewrite your menu using the same methods the tutorial gives you. You can kill the link to the file as you will be creating your own javascript. Also please don't cross post. Its against the forum rules.

kb1
05-29-2007, 05:33 AM
OK, thank you - will not cross post.

Interestingly a friend DID manage to get the menus to work in Safari BUT now the default's main header image won't display -

he writes...

==============
I found some other information that suggested setting the ClientTarget attribute to “uplevel” when you detect the Safari or Opera browsers.

I went ahead and implemented that by creating a base class called BasePage (in the App_Code folder) and made every page load derive from it using the “Inherits” parameter. This seemed to solve the problem on Safari (I don’t have Opera) without affecting IE7. Note that all new pages you create need to have the Inherits=”BasePage” tag set in their <Page> element.

So all is good in that the submenus pop up as we would expect…but there is a problem with the graphic on the default page. The main image doesn’t load on the Safari browser unless I remove that ClientTarget=”uplevel” statement. If I remove it, then the menus don’t work.
==================

Any thoughts on why this image on the home page now won't display only in Safari?

http://www.truthandlife.info/Default.aspx

Thank you

KB



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum