...

View Full Version : fireworks/dreameaver problem



timebomb606
05-24-2007, 04:04 AM
I designed a web template in Fireworks, how do I make the file editable in dreamweaver?

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-24-2007, 04:10 AM
The easiest way would be to slice the layout keeping in mind what will go where and then use the Export option under the file menu. While that may be the easiest way to do things its also the wrong way to do things because you will end up with your previous problem of having places to put text in but then as you put more text the boxes expand and images get separated. As I said before you will have to code the entire thing from scratch without relying on a program to do the work for you as you will likely get undesired results from the program. Good luck.

kewlceo
05-24-2007, 04:14 AM
From Adobe Press:

"Dreamweaver and Fireworks are tightly integrated so that you can efficiently use the two tools together. After you've imported HTML created in Fireworks into Dreamweaver, you can edit the HTML in Dreamweaver and update the original Fireworks files, too. Dreamweaver knows when you have inserted a Fireworks file into your Web page, and it keeps track of any edits that you make to the file."

Personally, I agree with Aero on this. Applications that try to build pages for you will give you quick initial results, but by the time you're done you will have spent more time than hand-coding IMHO.

VIPStephan
05-24-2007, 11:03 AM
I’ve recently “discovered” the slice function (I knew it was there but I’ve never used it and always sliced by hand because I remembered that Fireworks would put those slices into tables). Now this slicing function can be useful if you have similar layouts but different graphics and you just copy the slices/web layers. And I also discovered that you can define a “pure text slice” where you can put your own HTML and stuff.
So generally as I understand you don’t even need Dreamweaver because you can edit the graphic in FW, put your “dynamic” text and upload it to the server. For all other stuff you can import/export those graphics and stuff (top right of the window: “Quick Export”) and easily switch between those programs.

However, I can just agree with both of those cats above me that this ain’t the best way to go. Since we’re on CodingForums here everybody will probably tell you to hand code it and honestly, if you wanna build websites you really have to know some HTML and CSS, otherwise you shouldn’t do this or give it to somebody who knows.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum