...

View Full Version : tile a gif



cdhames
05-21-2007, 04:30 AM
Is there a way to tile a GIF, 12 by 12 of the same image, and then have them "individually" linked?

194673
05-21-2007, 04:34 AM
Errr yes? There are a few ways. The easiest would be to place them in a table 12x12 either hard-coding or through a loop within a loop + an array containing the links using JS or PHP or another web-programming language.

cdhames
05-21-2007, 04:36 AM
i'm trying to avoid tables. I have a div setup with css that constrains the width/height of a container, but it's pretty sloppy. and I don't know how get each image linked in this fashion.

194673
05-21-2007, 04:39 AM
What do you mean you can't get each image linked seperately? Couldn't you just do something like...
<a href="http://google.com"><img src="01.jpg" alt="" /></a><a href="http://yahoo.com"><img src="02.jpg" alt="" /></a>

Another method would be to graphically combine the images then use a imagemap

cdhames
05-21-2007, 04:51 AM
I'm just asking if there is a CSS way to go about this. I know a script can loop through what I want to do in a few seconds, however, I don't know javascript or PHP. There will be nearly 1000 of these GIFs on the page, all linked to the same page, but carrying seperate identifiers, and it'd take hours to do everything manually.

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-21-2007, 05:21 AM
Unfortunately CSS doesn't have these capabilities so you are out of luck there. CSS will help you position them but you will either have to do it manually or learn how to do it some other way. If you don't mind me asking what is your reasoning for this? What exactly are you trying to do? And why 1000 images? A little excessive don't you think?

194673
05-21-2007, 05:53 AM
Unfortunately CSS doesn't have these capabilities so you are out of luck there. CSS will help you position them but you will either have to do it manually or learn how to do it some other way. If you don't mind me asking what is your reasoning for this? What exactly are you trying to do? And why 1000 images? A little excessive don't you think?
Truthfully, I was wondering the same thing. Why do you need this grid of images? Anyways, unless your links have some type of arithmetic pattern or any type of pattern, I would say you're out of luck and you'd have to do this manually.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum