...

View Full Version : Review & Browser Testing



Acid
05-17-2007, 05:42 PM
Just finished creating a new site for my mates night club event that he hosts on a Tuesday night at a club in Newcastle, apparently there's a display problem in some versions of IE (although all the ones I've tried display it fine), if anyone spots any problems with it could you please take a screenshot of it?

http://risquenights.users44.webfusion.co.uk/

Any other comments / suggestions for improvement are welcome. ;)

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-18-2007, 04:15 AM
Page load time is a little slow and I'm on high speed cable. According to this site (http://www.websiteoptimization.com/services/analyze/) on a 56k modem your page will finish loading in about 287 seconds. Looks okay though in IE7, IE6, and Firefox 2.0.0.3

Acid
05-18-2007, 12:22 PM
Yeah I need to optimise the site a bit for load time, seems to be the flash movie(s) that is causing the problem there.

So far I've tested this site in IE5, IE5.5, IE6, IE7, Firefox 1, 1.5 and 2, Netscape 6 and 7 (since any higher just emulates Firefox and IE), Amaya, Opera (5 through 9) and Safari and it seems fine to me (except for some display issues on versions 5 and 6 of Opera since they're fairly old and some strange display issue with the main content area breaking out its container in Amaya, you'd think the W3C browser (editor) should render everything perfectly really). One of my mates told me though that someone he knows with a different version or build of IE6 and IE7 has some problems with the navigation links at the top? I've never seen that problem myself in all the versions ive tried it displays fine.

Cheers for checking out the site though, just need to find some way of making the flash stream instead of fully loading (using A List Aparts Satay mehtod but I dont know jack about making flahs movies with ActionScript to make a mini preloader hack so I just left out the container movie. Was going to use SWFObject JavaScript and tried this out but it did nothing besides which IMO its bad practice to rely on JavaScript.

ahallicks
05-18-2007, 03:10 PM
Cheers for checking out the site though, just need to find some way of making the flash stream instead of fully loading (using A List Aparts Satay mehtod but I dont know jack about making flahs movies with ActionScript to make a mini preloader hack so I just left out the container movie. Was going to use SWFObject JavaScript and tried this out but it did nothing besides which IMO its bad practice to rely on JavaScript.

on this note, you could put the flash movie as an object behind the javascript so that if the javascript is disabled by a user, or 'fails' you still have the flash movie behind it? Or put a link to the movie in the div you use for SWFObject, that's what I have done. That way you're covered.

Acid
05-18-2007, 04:27 PM
^ thats precisely what I was doing ;)

The SWFObject was changing the contents of whatever element you point it to linked by the ID, in my case a DIV and I was inserting the object code satay method (minus the container movie) in that DIV then having SWFObject replace it, except the SWFObject did nothing at all (found that out when I remove the object code from the DIV and got zippo)

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-18-2007, 06:12 PM
^ thats precisely what I was doing ;)

The SWFObject was changing the contents of whatever element you point it to linked by the ID, in my case a DIV and I was inserting the object code satay method (minus the container movie) in that DIV then having SWFObject replace it, except the SWFObject did nothing at all (found that out when I remove the object code from the DIV and got zippo)

Then you likely set it up improperly. It does require that you link to an external JS file. Your swfobject variables can't be the same either and your divs that hold the flash need to have different ids.

Acid
05-18-2007, 11:20 PM
Did all that you mentioned and still got nothing. I'll give it another try in a bit (in the middle of writing the PHP for the site at the minute), who knows might of just been some random problem or minor syntax error somewhere

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-19-2007, 12:01 AM
Tell us when you've tried it so we can see if you have any syntax errors.

Acid
05-19-2007, 04:15 PM
OK I've put SWFObject back in now and finally it's working as it should so no more click to activate annoyance in IE because of the Eolas patent dispute and it now streams so that should save some loading time. On that note I've just retested the site in that web optimisation checker but IMO that checker is grossly inaccurate as it still claims the site takes 288 seconds to load on a 56K connection and I know for a fact that isnt true because I've literally just tested it on a 56K dialup and it loaded in less than a minute on a machine thats never visited the site before so nothing is cached, even tried it a couple of times using force refresh and still no where near 288 seconds load time.

Btw on the subject of this site there is one thing I am scratching my head at and I'm just chalking it up to another of IE's many many many failures and generally being the worst browser to have ever existed.

I'm making use of the DOMRoll script for hover versions of the buttons etc on the site works fine in every browser except for IE, strangely though the EXACT same code works in IE on another site I've done, I even set my script tag to point tot he JavaScript file on the working site and copy paste the code into this one and again works for every browser other than IE. Am I missing something here or is this just IE yet again proving itself to be completely useless?

kosstr12
05-19-2007, 04:57 PM
Maybe try capitalizing the first letter of the link text?
Just a suggestion.

Thanks,
kosstr12

Acid
05-19-2007, 05:49 PM
What?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum