...

View Full Version : firefox iframe fit content



prophetofjah
05-09-2007, 03:22 PM
Howdy,
I am using the script on the following page:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/iframessi2.htm

Its called Iframe SSI script II. It works great in IE, but my iframes are not resizing in firefox. Anyone have any ideas? I have been looking for a solution, but have not found one. I also added a name to my iframe to match the id, thinking firefox might have to use that instead of the id.

Thanks,
PoJ

prophetofjah
05-21-2007, 06:56 PM
Hello,
I still can't figure out why the iframe script is not working in firefox. Any suggestions?

Page:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

<link href="secondary05.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">

<title>Knowledge Center</title>


<script type="text/javascript">

/***********************************************
* IFrame SSI script II- Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)
* Visit DynamicDrive.com for hundreds of original DHTML scripts
* This notice must stay intact for legal use
***********************************************/

//Input the IDs of the IFRAMES you wish to dynamically resize to match its content height:
//Separate each ID with a comma. Examples: ["myframe1", "myframe2"] or ["myframe"] or [] for none:
var iframeids=["myframe"]

//Should script hide iframe from browsers that don't support this script (non IE5+/NS6+ browsers. Recommended):
var iframehide="no"

var getFFVersion=navigator.userAgent.substring(navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Firefox")).split("/")[1]
var FFextraHeight=parseFloat(getFFVersion)>=0.1? 16 : 0 //extra height in px to add to iframe in FireFox 1.0+ browsers

function resizeCaller() {
var dyniframe=new Array()
for (i=0; i<iframeids.length; i++){
if (document.getElementById)
resizeIframe(iframeids[i])
//reveal iframe for lower end browsers? (see var above):
if ((document.all || document.getElementById) && iframehide=="no"){
var tempobj=document.all? document.all[iframeids[i]] : document.getElementById(iframeids[i])
tempobj.style.display="block"
}
}
}

function resizeIframe(frameid){
var currentfr=document.getElementById(frameid)
if (currentfr && !window.opera){
currentfr.style.display="block"
if (currentfr.contentDocument && currentfr.contentDocument.body.offsetHeight) //ns6 syntax
currentfr.height = currentfr.contentDocument.body.offsetHeight+FFextraHeight;
else if (currentfr.Document && currentfr.Document.body.scrollHeight) //ie5+ syntax
currentfr.height = currentfr.Document.body.scrollHeight;
if (currentfr.addEventListener)
currentfr.addEventListener("load", readjustIframe, false)
else if (currentfr.attachEvent){
currentfr.detachEvent("onload", readjustIframe) // Bug fix line
currentfr.attachEvent("onload", readjustIframe)
}
}
}

function readjustIframe(loadevt) {
var crossevt=(window.event)? event : loadevt
var iframeroot=(crossevt.currentTarget)? crossevt.currentTarget : crossevt.srcElement
if (iframeroot)
resizeIframe(iframeroot.id);
}

function loadintoIframe(iframeid, url){
if (document.getElementById)
document.getElementById(iframeid).src=url
}

if (window.addEventListener)
window.addEventListener("load", resizeCaller, false)
else if (window.attachEvent)
window.attachEvent("onload", resizeCaller)
else
window.onload=resizeCaller

</script>
</head>
<body>
<div id="main">
<div id="header"><div id="homehotspot"><a href="default.asp"><img border="0" src="images/logo.gif" alt="Fathom SEO Logo"></a></div>
<div id="headerkeywords">Search Engine Optimization Firm, Search Engine Placement</div>
<div id="headerphonenumber">Reporting Center</div>
<!--<div id="headermaintitle">Search Engine Optimization Services</div>-->
<!--#include file="include/emailnewslettersignup.html" -->
</div><!--End of Header -->
<div id="topnav">
<div id="nav"><!--#include file="include/topnav/topnav.html" --></div>

</div><!--End of topnav -->

<div id="container">
<iframe src="../kc_home.asp" id="myframe" name="myframe" width="100%" frameborder="0" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0"></iframe>

<div id="footer">
<!--#include file="include/footer.html" -->
</div>

</div><!-- End of container div -->

</div><!-- End of main div -->
</body>
</html>


Thanks Poj

prophetofjah
05-21-2007, 08:49 PM
Howdy,
I replaced
if (currentfr.contentDocument && currentfr.contentDocument.body.offsetHeight) //ns6 syntax
currentfr.height = currentfr.contentDocument.body.offsetHeight+FFextraHeight;
else if (currentfr.Document && currentfr.Document.body.scrollHeight) //ie5+ syntax
currentfr.height = currentfr.Document.body.scrollHeight;


with


if (currentfr.contentDocument && currentfr.contentDocument.body.offsetHeight) //ns6 syntax
currentfr.height = currentfr.contentDocument.body.offsetHeight+FFextraHeight;
else if (currentfr.contentDocument && currentfr.contentDocument.documentElement.offsetHeight) //ns6 syntax
currentfr.height = currentfr.contentDocument.documentElement.offsetHeight+FFextraHeight;
else if (currentfr.Document && currentfr.Document.body.scrollHeight) //ie5+ syntax
currentfr.height = currentfr.Document.body.scrollHeight;
else if (currentfr.Document && currentfr.Document.documentElement.scrollHeight) //ie5+ syntax
currentfr.height = currentfr.Document.documentElement.scrollHeight;

It now works in FF and IE!
Thanks,
Poj

howie2009
06-03-2010, 07:32 PM
Superb!

Can you u get it working in Opera browser too by tweaking the code. FF and safari work fine

THANKS & WELL DONE :thumbsup:

howie2009
06-03-2010, 08:15 PM
found answer for opera

replace
if (currentfr && !window.opera){
with
if (currentfr){


Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy! Finallly!!!!!!!!!!!!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum