View Full Version : put a div on top of everything

05-08-2007, 02:56 PM
Hi all, i wrote for my webapp an auto-completer.
when the user writes, an hidden div becomes visible and show the results of the query.

the problem is that this hidden div doesn't go on top of everything, as you can see in this image

or also in the site (note that the autocomplete feature is not working because it's notlinked to a db in this moment - i just need to correct thevisualizationof the div!)

05-08-2007, 07:12 PM
on top of the Y-axis or on top of the Z-axis?


05-08-2007, 09:34 PM
on top of the Z-axis!!!


05-08-2007, 09:35 PM
#divname {
z-index: 5;

05-08-2007, 11:33 PM
As long as you don't hhave any select boxes or iframes you can put things on top just by setting their z-index appropriately.

IE6 and earlier insists on displaying select lists in front of everything else so to put something in front of a select list that will work for IE6 you need to hide the select while displaying the other object. The same applies to iframes in Opera 8 and earlier so you will need to hide any iframes you want to display objects in front of as well. If you have a similar problem wiith flash objects then it just means that you haven't set the wmode param correctly.

05-08-2007, 11:35 PM
wow.. amazing!!!

thanks to all... in this moment i'm so happy... :P