...

View Full Version : Using iFrame



tcadieux
05-06-2007, 09:52 PM
Bizarre question for you. CBC.ca offers streaming video on their website. It is only available in Canada though, so, by IP, if your not in Canada, you get a notice saying you can't watch. Living in Europe, I cannot get any content, even though I'm Canadian.

I run a website but my host is in the US, therefore, using an iFrame does not work because the IP is still from outside Canada.

My question is this, could I purchase an IP in Canada, host only 1 page that had an iFrame pointing to the CBC page in question. If that worked, is it possible to iFrame to that new page from my US website so that all my colleagues can use it also?

mlseim
05-08-2007, 03:32 AM
That's an interesting one ...

I have an idea for you though ...

Go to this Canadian Webhost:
http://www.netfirms.com/web-hosting/web-hosting-basic/

See if you can create a "free" account and get the video
to work on your netfirms site. If so, then you can experiment
with some of your other ideas .... iframes, PHP Includes, whatever.

It won't cost you anything to test it out.
I guess it would be worth a shot.

tcadieux
05-08-2007, 01:14 PM
I did host an iFrame on our Canadian Host as a test and the CBC page still managed to detect that we were visiting from a European IP ?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum