View Full Version : META Tags

12-11-2002, 12:47 AM
I've heard two rules regarding "META" Keywords. One is that you should put a space after every coma following a keyword and the other is don't put a space after the coma. Which do you believe is right? Also, I posted a new web site and my PC found the old one in the Temporary Internet Files folder. I then hit "refresh". Is there not a way to put a META tag or code in so it tells it to load a new page from the server rahter than use the page in the cache ? I always thought that this would work:
<META http-equiv="REFRESH">

12-11-2002, 02:32 AM
this page uses it on the front.
i guess its to try and keep the posts ect. current:

<!-- no cache headers -->
<meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache">
<meta http-equiv="no-cache">
<meta http-equiv="Expires" content="-1">
<meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache">
<!-- end no cache headers -->

12-11-2002, 02:57 AM
Well, actually, those haven't worked now for some time. The best you can do is to refresh once onload to update.

In answering your question about keywords, the general consensus is not to use any commas at all. This way, the SE can figure out all possible combinations of the keywords and make a match.:D

12-11-2002, 03:09 AM
So Zoobie, no commas? That's a 3rd different opinion! So just spaces, no spaces. And would put "description" first, then "keywords?"

12-11-2002, 03:12 AM
Ignor the "refresh". That's for Cg9!

12-11-2002, 03:14 AM
Do you want me to copy and paste that? Before or after the description and keywords? And will this really work?

12-11-2002, 05:09 AM
Originally posted by pkmayer
And will this really work?

heh ... potentially http://www.cg9com.web1000.com/smilies/looney.gif

12-11-2002, 05:42 AM
As I recall most search engines ignore the description meta tag. But I could be mistaken.

12-11-2002, 07:22 AM
Most still use them...except for Google. They make up their own. This is the site description you see when searching. Like I said before :rolleyes: those cache tags probably won't work because most servers disable them now-a-dayz. The most reliable you can do is use both the cache tags & refresh once to update with js:

This is set for half a second (.5)...Use 1000 for one sec, 5000 for 5 seconds, etc.

window.onload = function() {
if (!window.location.search) {
setTimeout("window.location+='?refreshed';", .5);

Title, meta description, then meta keywords.

SE's can't read javascript. Ha! ha! But they don't need to in order to revisit your updated site. :p