...

View Full Version : menu without using frames



lmonroe
04-05-2007, 05:55 AM
Here's what I'm trying to do- I have a menu I made in flash and I want it to stay (not reload) when click through the site. I DON'T want a fixed menu where it stays on the top as you scroll down. Have web browsers fixed the frame problems? How bad is it if I use frames for this effect? OR does anyone have a CSS code that I could stumble through to create this effect? Any other options out there?

Sorry I'm a newbie...Please respond! THX!

ronaldb66
04-05-2007, 08:58 AM
CSS offers fixed positioning, but--to my knowledge--this isn't supported by IE; another option would be to use JavaScript.
The problems with frames are inherit to frames, not to browsers.

Pennimus
04-05-2007, 09:31 AM
3 options:

1) Use frames.
2) Make your links swap content on the page, rather than load new pages, using JavaScript.
3) Do things normally, and reload your navigation on each page. I mean, does it really matter? If it's a Flash file I also would have thought it would be cached so reloading it won't actually be an issue (not 100% on that one though, worth checking out).

ronaldb66
04-05-2007, 09:47 AM
I read the original question as if he wanted the menu to stay visible in the viewport while scrolling through the content; maybe the original poster can clarify this.

ahallicks
04-05-2007, 10:04 AM
The problem with flash is that when you load a new page with the same flash file, it is cached but you always get a 'flash' of white (or whatever background colour you have set in the parameters for the embed) and tho you can set a background-image to a div and place the flash in the div but because the flash is on top of the div it still creates the 'flash' of colour.

Pennimus
04-05-2007, 01:01 PM
I read the original question as if he wanted the menu to stay visible in the viewport while scrolling through the content; maybe the original poster can clarify this.

That shouldn't be necessary - the op states "I want it to stay (not reload) when [I] click through the site".

And, he also quite clearly says...


I DON'T want a fixed menu where it stays on the top as you scroll down.

:thumbsup:

ronaldb66
04-05-2007, 02:28 PM
You're probably right, but which top does he mean: top of the viewport, or top of the page? (Not) fixed to what, the page or the viewport?

lmonroe
04-05-2007, 05:24 PM
Thanks for the replies! I want the menu to be "fixed" to the top of the page NOT the top of the viewport. So when you scroll down the menu scrolls off the page like normal. I just don't want the menu to reload.

What I probably should I have explained before is that the menu is a flash slide show, so if it reloads it will go back to the beginning of the movie. I just want it to play continuosly as people flip through the site.

It's a big problem if it doesn't work on IE, so it sounds like CSS isn't the way to go.

Frames then?

lmonroe
04-05-2007, 05:48 PM
You're probably right, but which top does he mean: top of the viewport, or top of the page? (Not) fixed to what, the page or the viewport?

And "he" is a "she" by the way :)

lmonroe
04-05-2007, 06:48 PM
Ok, now I'm having a new problem. I've made the final decision to go with frames, but when I click on a link in the flash menu, the html page doesn't load in the content frame. It loads in a new window. The frame name is "contentframe" and here's the code on the buttons:

this.onRelease = function(){
getURL("contact.html", "contentframe");
};

I feel like I'm missing something with the HTML. Anything I need to do besides name the frame "contentframe"?

Thanks!

lmonroe
04-06-2007, 12:47 AM
Ah! I am so frusturated. So I figured out that last problem but I'm back to the first. Frames don't work! I just want the menu bar not to reload, but I don't want the scrolling effects of frames. I turned the scroll bar off of the content frame, but I didn't realize it turns off the scrolling of the whole window! I want the menu bar and the content to scroll down as one. Like non-framed pages. But the menu bar to load only once. It shouldn't be this hard! Pleeeease help!

_Aerospace_Eng_
04-06-2007, 02:30 AM
Yes it is this hard or you have received the answer by now. Flash has no way of knowing not to reload. If the page reloads so does the flash. You will have to use ajax to make the page not 'reload'.

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxcontent.htm

Just be sure to have an alternative way of uses viewing the pages if they have javascript disabled.

Good luck.

lmonroe
04-06-2007, 02:34 AM
Thanks Aerospace. I wasn't sure if people weren't responding because it was too stupid of a question to waste their time, or if it was actually difficult. I've decided to make a different version of the slide show for each main tab so that it isn't obvious that the movie is starting over with each click. Good enough I guess.

Thanks everyone.

KevinG
04-06-2007, 09:55 AM
personally i would have used ajax for the body content reload.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum