View Full Version : connect to sql server 2000 using asp.net

03-29-2007, 07:21 PM
Hey guys newbie here. I tried to google for sql connection using asp.net but didn't get what they were talking about.

I got a page called getData.aspx, and a table name "tblTest" with columns "Name" value "Test".

I want to retrieve that data from tblsTest by displaying the name "Test". But I don't know how to connect to my database which is MS. Sql server 2000. Where to put that code in vb file or that aspx file? Anyone could help please?

03-29-2007, 07:28 PM
You need to set a connection string in your web.config file:

<add name="LocalSQLServer" connectionString="Persist Security Info=False;User ID=dbUser;pwd=password;Initial Catalog=databaseName;Data Source=sqlserverip;" providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"/>

then in your page you need the
Imports System.Data.SqlClient Line at the top.
then you declare a connection where you need it in your code

and then you can declare a command and execute the query to get it in a datareader

Dim cnnConnexion As New SqlConnection(System.Configuration.ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings("LocalSQLServer").ConnectionString)
Dim cnnCommand as New SqlCommand("SELECT * FROM Test", cnnConnexion)
Dim drReader as DataReader

drReader = cmdCommand.ExecuteReader()
if drReader.HasRows() then
while drReader.Read()
'code to do
end while
end if
Catch ex as exception
'Error handling
end try

hope that helps ^^ (this is VB.Net code, btw)

Oh, and you can also use the connection string directly into the declaration if you dont want to set the web.config file bit like
Dim cnnConn as new SqlConnection("Persist Security Info=False;User ID=dbUser;pwd=password;Initial Catalog=databaseName;Data Source=sqlserverip;")
but I'm not 100% sure about that one cuz I never used it

03-29-2007, 07:49 PM
Just to clarify that vb script I should put in my getData.aspx, correct? would it allow me to do that?