...

View Full Version : Help with form transfering data from one page to the other



malhyp
03-28-2007, 05:40 AM
I have the following form which pulls names from a database in a drowp down.

I have almost exactly the same form on a second page which has the same form with the dropdown.

How do I "using dreamweaver" transfer what the user selects on the first form to the second form???

Page 1


<%
Dim rsTest
Dim rsTest_numRows

Set rsTest = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
rsTest.ActiveConnection = MM_conn_STRING
rsTest.Source = "SELECT Species FROM tblSpecies ORDER BY Species ASC"
rsTest.CursorType = 0
rsTest.CursorLocation = 2
rsTest.LockType = 1
rsTest.Open()

rsTest_numRows = 0
%>
<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<body>
<form action="page2.asp" method="post" name="searchForm" id="searchForm">
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="4" bgcolor="#E0E0C2">
<tr>
<td>&nbsp;
<select name="Keyword" id="Keyword">
<option value="">Choose Species Type</option>
<%
While (NOT rsTest.EOF)
%>
<option value="<%=(rsTest.Fields.Item("Species").Value)%>"><%=(rsTest.Fields.Item("Species").Value)%></option>
<%
rsTest.MoveNext()
Wend
If (rsTest.CursorType > 0) Then
rsTest.MoveFirst
Else
rsTest.Requery
End If
%>
</select>
</td>
<td><input name="Submit" type="submit" id="Submit4" value="Search">
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</body>
</html>
<%
rsTest.Close()
Set rsTest = Nothing
%>


Page 2


<%
Dim rsTest__MMColParam
rsTest__MMColParam = "1"
If (Request.Form("Species") <> "") Then
rsTest__MMColParam = Request.Form("Species")
End If
%>
<%
Dim rsTest
Dim rsTest_numRows

Set rsTest = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
rsTest.ActiveConnection = MM_conn_STRING
rsTest.Source = "SELECT Species FROM tblSpecies WHERE Species = '" + Replace(rsTest__MMColParam, "'", "''") + "' ORDER BY Species ASC"
rsTest.CursorType = 0
rsTest.CursorLocation = 2
rsTest.LockType = 1
rsTest.Open()

rsTest_numRows = 0
%>
<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<body>
<form action="/html/main7.asp" method="post" name="searchForm" id="searchForm">
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="4" bgcolor="#E0E0C2">
<tr>
<td>&nbsp;
<select name="Keyword" id="Keyword">
<option value="">Choose Species Type</option>
<%
While (NOT rsTest.EOF)
%>
<option value="<%=(rsTest.Fields.Item("Species").Value)%>"><%=(rsTest.Fields.Item("Species").Value)%></option>
<%
rsTest.MoveNext()
Wend
If (rsTest.CursorType > 0) Then
rsTest.MoveFirst
Else
rsTest.Requery
End If
%>
</select>
</td>
<td><input name="Submit" type="submit" id="Submit" value="Search">
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</body>
</html>
<%
rsTest.Close()
Set rsTest = Nothing
%>


I just can't figure out what I am doing wrong.

Cheers
Mally

Daemonspyre
03-28-2007, 03:05 PM
It's the SELECT name that's the problem.

On your second page, you have Request.Form("Species"). What part of the form on the first page is defined as "Species"? I see a "Keyword", but no "Species".

Try changing your <select name="Keyword"> to <select name="Species"> OR change your Request.Form("Species") to Request.Form("Keyword").

Also, (purely curious as to your methods), why not use rsTest("Species") v. rsTest.Fields.Item("Species").Value?

They are the same thing, just the first method has a lot less typing involved.

HTH!

malhyp
03-29-2007, 10:20 AM
Hi there, thanks for the reply. I have been playing around with this for days and you hit the nail on the head. It worked as soon as I made the change,.

Thanks for taking the time.

Yes it did help.

Cheers
Mally



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum