PDA

View Full Version : Not sure what is wrong...



SirSteve
03-26-2007, 06:33 PM
I am trying to learn PHP and mySQL and have a simple wishlist but I cannot see where the bug is. When I click Submit, it doesn't add the data to the database. No errors, Here is the URL:

http://www.zodesigns.com/wishlist/wishlist.php

and attached is the source code.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

rafiki
03-26-2007, 06:42 PM
is short tags allowed? i wouldnt recommend using them even if they are, also set error reporting to strict, i didnt read all of your code, but if you use a syntax highlighting editor you will see the syntax errors if any

_Aerospace_Eng_
03-26-2007, 06:44 PM
You use

isset($_POST['Submit'])
but yet you have no input with name="Submit" so your first if statement is never being met which is why it doesn't submit anything to the database. If you changed this

<input type="submit" value="Submit" onClick="return checkForm();" />
to this

<input type="submit" value="Submit" name="Submit" onClick="return checkForm();" />
Then it should work.

Also you do know you can post code in the forums directly don't you?

Krokador
03-26-2007, 06:49 PM
I think I know what's wrong with your page.

you use

if(isset($_POST['Submit'])

you are trying to check the value of an input you havent named (or given and id)

<input type="submit" value="Submit" onClick="return checkForm();" />

just add name="Submit" id="Submit" in that tag and it should work :)

*edit* It seems i was beaten in speed by someone else lol... */edit*

SirSteve
03-26-2007, 08:21 PM
You were both correct! Thanks!

Nightfire
03-26-2007, 08:43 PM
I think I know what's wrong with your page.

you use

if(isset($_POST['Submit'])

you are trying to check the value of an input you havent named (or given and id)

<input type="submit" value="Submit" onClick="return checkForm();" />

just add name="Submit" id="Submit" in that tag and it should work :)

*edit* It seems i was beaten in speed by someone else lol... */edit*
PHP doesn't use the id tag, so no need to add that. It's clientside ie css, javascript,etc that makes use of that