...

View Full Version : Need Site Testing In IE6



Acid
03-25-2007, 07:31 AM
I have checked this site in IE6 before and it worked fine and have also tested this in IE5, IE5.5 and IE7 as well as multiple versions of Firefox, Opera, Netscape etc.

For some reason though when I look at the site again in IE6 the flash movie and buttons links that should be horizontally and vertically centred in the page (since its a gateway page) appear to start from above the top of the viewport and only the bottom half shows up.

Could anyone using IE6 please go to: http://www.flyingroup.com and take a screenshot of it for me so I can check to see if this is just my PC being weird (since it has been playing up since I rebuilt it) or if the site is displaying the same for everyone running IE6 (in which case I knew IE sucked but this is ridiculous, for a company that's meant to be the world leader in software they have managed to create the worlds most pathetic web browser).

Thanks in advance.

_Aerospace_Eng_
03-25-2007, 08:21 AM
Remove the iepng fix and see what happens.

Acid
03-25-2007, 01:40 PM
That wont work, the JavaScript PNGFix for IE just corrects IE's failure to use PNG Alpha Transparency in IE 5.5 and 6 it doesn't affect positioning at all besides which if that was the cause of the problem it would affect all versions of IE below 7.

KeZZeR
03-26-2007, 10:03 AM
"FlyinForum - Have You're Say!"

"You're"? You realise "you're" means "you are" right? So let's translate that. "Have you are say!". That's confusing ;)

Acid
03-26-2007, 11:16 AM
Yeah I know, I spotted that before, just haven't got around to changing the image yet. Could someone please post/send me a screenshot of how this looks in IE6?

ahallicks
03-27-2007, 12:31 PM
http://www.themits.co.uk/example.jpg is what I get for IE in a 1280x1024 window

Acid
03-28-2007, 05:25 PM
Cool I didn't know you could get a Firefox skin for IE! :rolleyes:

Cheers for posting the screenshot though, I managed to get access to another machine at work that hadn't been forcefully moved to IE7 by Microsoft update (clever of Microsoft to force IE7 out as a high priority updated when its worse than IE5 and has more holes than a sive, well done Microsoft, well done[/sarcasm]).

That machine had the same display prob and I've fixed it now, seems IE6 as usual is too stupid to understand standards compliance code and after developing some form of mental illness trying to write a hack I finally gave up and had to axe the right hand background image just to suit IE (again *groan*)

I've got the dual background images working fine (see http://tney.cddps.nhs.uk though that link will be changing soon) but it seems that IE complains if I try and use that and having that page centred vertically as well. Oh how we love IE (not)

ahallicks
03-28-2007, 06:03 PM
Cool I didn't know you could get a Firefox skin for IE! :rolleyes:

It's an extension called IE Tab, and it's very useful in web development. It simply renders the web page as it would look in IE by going to your IE.exe and displaying with those properties. Very clever code, huh!?

twodayslate
03-28-2007, 08:47 PM
It's an extension called IE Tab, and it's very useful in web development. It simply renders the web page as it would look in IE by going to your IE.exe and displaying with those properties. Very clever code, huh!?

Love IE tab!

Acid
03-28-2007, 10:25 PM
If thats what you see then you must have IE7 installed since IE6 renders the page differently. I've heard of that plugin before, never bothered installing it though, I've just literally installed multiple versions of different browsers on my PC to do my testing, mainly IE, Firefox, Netscape, Opera, Amaya, would do Safari and Konqueror but I dont have access to a Mac or a machine running *Nix

_Aerospace_Eng_
03-29-2007, 04:37 AM
That wont work, the JavaScript PNGFix for IE just corrects IE's failure to use PNG Alpha Transparency in IE 5.5 and 6 it doesn't affect positioning at all besides which if that was the cause of the problem it would affect all versions of IE below 7.

I know what it does but it has been know to cause issues. Did you even try removing it or did you just assume it wouldn't work. You asked for our advice and we gave it to you. If you don't feel like trying our advice then don't ask for it.

As for affecting all versions below IE 7, you are little incorrect on that. IE5.5 and below as a standalone browser doesn't support any Microsoft filters.

ahallicks
03-29-2007, 09:55 AM
If thats what you see then you must have IE7 installed since IE6 renders the page differently. I've heard of that plugin before, never bothered installing it though, I've just literally installed multiple versions of different browsers on my PC to do my testing, mainly IE, Firefox, Netscape, Opera, Amaya, would do Safari and Konqueror but I dont have access to a Mac or a machine running *Nix

Ermm... I think I know which browser I'm using and it's definitely IE6. I tested it in both IE Tab and my actual Internet Explorer and, of course, I got the same results, since IE Tab simply uses IE to render the web pages inside the FF browser!

Maybe screen size made it work properly? Although, again I did try changing the page size and everything was okay

Acid
03-29-2007, 12:34 PM
I know what it does but it has been know to cause issues. Did you even try removing it or did you just assume it wouldn't work. You asked for our advice and we gave it to you. If you don't feel like trying our advice then don't ask for it.

As for affecting all versions below IE 7, you are little incorrect on that. IE5.5 and below as a standalone browser doesn't support any Microsoft filters.
First off there is no need to snap at me. I didn't snap at you. I know the PNG fix has been known to cause issues for some people and no I didn't try removing it because there was no need as that script was the last thing added to the page after I spotted the display issue so it wasn't an assumption I knew for a fact that wasnt the problem, all I asked was if everyone sees the same as me so I can rule out the possibility of it just displaying strange for my PC since I've been having problems with it lately.

IE5 doesn't support the filters but 5.5 does (tested it as standalone browser from the evolt site and on a PC that has it installed and it works on both).


Ermm... I think I know which browser I'm using and it's definitely IE6. I tested it in both IE Tab and my actual Internet Explorer and, of course, I got the same results, since IE Tab simply uses IE to render the web pages inside the FF browser!

Maybe screen size made it work properly? Although, again I did try changing the page size and everything was okay
Perhaps I worded my reply wrong I wasnt telling you what browser you were using it was an assumption since every other test in IE6 that Ive seen (and some that some mates of mine have seen) all displayed the same, but I know 5.0, 5.5 and 7.0 display it fine.

Problem is resolved now anyway so thanks for you help.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum