View Full Version : SQL Error?

03-20-2007, 10:06 PM
Here is my php:


$querey = $_GET['q'];

// Connects to your Database
mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "root") or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db("restfind") or die(mysql_error());

//This checks to see if there is a page number. If not, it will set it to page 1
if (!(isset($pagenum)))
$pagenum = 1;

//Here we count the number of results
//Edit $data to be your query
$data = mysql_query('SELECT `*` FROM `places` WHERE `name`, `description` LIKE \'%' . $querey . '\'') or die(mysql_error());
$rows = mysql_num_rows($data);

//This is the number of results displayed per page
$page_rows = 4;

//This tells us the page number of our last page
$last = ceil($rows/$page_rows);

//this makes sure the page number isn't below one, or more than our maximum pages
if ($pagenum < 1)
$pagenum = 1;
elseif ($pagenum > $last)
$pagenum = $last;

//This sets range that we will display in our query
$max = 'limit ' .($pagenum - 1) * $page_rows .',' .$page_rows;

//This is your query again, the same one... the only difference is we add $max into it
$data_p = mysql_query('SELECT `*` FROM `places` WHERE `name`, `description` LIKE +' . $querey . '+') or die(mysql_error());

//This is where you display your query results
while($info = mysql_fetch_array( $data_p ))

Print $info['Name'];
echo "<br>";

echo "<p>";

// This shows the user what page they are on, and the total number of pages
echo " --Page $pagenum of $last-- <p>";

// First we check if we are on page one. If we are then we don't need a link to the previous page or the first page so we do nothing. If we aren't then we generate links to the first page, and to the previous page.
if ($pagenum == 1)
echo " <a href='{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?pagenum=1'> <<-First</a> ";
echo " ";
$previous = $pagenum-1;
echo " <a href='{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?pagenum=$previous'> <-Previous</a> ";

//just a spacer
echo " ---- ";

//This does the same as above, only checking if we are on the last page, and then generating the Next and Last links
if ($pagenum == $last)
else {
$next = $pagenum+1;
echo " <a href='{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?pagenum=$next'>Next -></a> ";
echo " ";
echo " <a href='{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?pagenum=$last'>Last ->></a> ";

Here is the SQL taken out of the php:

SELECT `*` FROM `places` WHERE `name`, `description` LIKE \'%' . $querey . '\'

I don't know whats wrong!!!

Please Help!

03-20-2007, 10:27 PM
Don't know php, but try this:

SELECT * FROM places WHERE name, description LIKE \'%' . $querey . '\'
if name or description are reserved words, then surround them with [], like:

SELECT * FROM places WHERE [name], [description] LIKE \'%' . $querey . '\'

03-20-2007, 10:27 PM
SELECT * FROM `places` WHERE `name`, `description` LIKE \'%' . $querey . '\'

Shouldn't be any quotes around the *

03-20-2007, 11:42 PM
I still get

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ' `description` LIKE '%dream'' at line 1

03-20-2007, 11:50 PM
Not sure but I don't think you can have your where statement setup like that? You can call a field then add a comma and then call another field and it will search through both fields that way? I have never done that... If you can do that, thats news to me :)

03-20-2007, 11:55 PM
iLLin's right, you have to use AND or OR or IN(), not a comma.

03-21-2007, 01:53 AM
$sql="SELECT *
FROM places
WHERE `name` LIKE '%{$_GET['q']}'
OR `description` LIKE '%{$_GET['q']}'

for mysql you (optionally) use backticks to escape field `names` but iLLin spotted the main issue + if you use double quotes you don't need to go around escaping or concatenating everything.

03-21-2007, 04:08 PM
I'd suggest reading a basic MySQL tutorial, perhaps one considering debugging. Because this one should've been relatively easy to catch (since MySQL tells you where the problem is).