...

View Full Version : Changing Data In MySQL Through PHP



tomyknoker
03-15-2007, 04:53 PM
Hi,

I have the following php page, it displays my members, by there Status... Approved, Deleted, On Hold etc... I want to add a 'Delete' next to each member in the table that gets displayed, but only want this 'Delete' button to move the members to the 'Delete' column. Which from a database POV would mean changing the member in the 'MemApp' column from an 'A' to a 'D'... Any help would be greatly appreciated!



/* set the allowed order by columns */
$default_sort = 'LastName';
$allowed_order = array ('JoinDate', 'FirstName','LastName', 'loginDateTime');

/* if order is not set, or it is not in the allowed
* list, then set it to a default value. Otherwise,
* set it to what was passed in. */
if (!isset ($_GET['order']) ||
!in_array ($_GET['order'], $allowed_order)) {
$order = $default_sort;
} else {
$order = $_GET['order'];
}

/* construct and run our query */
$query = "SELECT * FROM tblmembers WHERE `MemberApproved`='$cat' ORDER BY $order";

$result = mysql_query ($query);

/* make sure data was retrieved */
$numrows = mysql_num_rows($result);
if ($numrows == 0) {
echo "No data to display!";
exit;
}

/* now grab the first row and start the table */
$row = mysql_fetch_assoc ($result);
echo "<TABLE border=1>\n";
echo "<TR>\n";
foreach ($row as $heading=>$column) {
/* check if the heading is in our allowed_order
* array. If it is, hyperlink it so that we can
* order by this column */
echo "<TD><b>";
if (in_array ($heading, $allowed_order)) {
echo "<a href=\"{$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']}?order=$heading&cat=$cat\">$heading</a>";
} else {
echo $heading;
}
echo "</b></TD>\n";
}
echo "</TR>\n";

/* reset the $result set back to the first row and
* display the data */
mysql_data_seek ($result, 0);
while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc ($result)) {
echo "<TR>\n";
foreach ($row as $column) {
echo "<TD>$column</TD>\n";
}
echo "</TR>\n";
}
echo "</TABLE>\n";
?>

aedrin
03-15-2007, 05:48 PM
Add a link that passes the ID in the url, then do a simple update.


UPDATE members SET status = 'D' WHERE id = $id

tomyknoker
03-15-2007, 05:51 PM
So where in my above code would I put my 'Edit' text?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum