...

View Full Version : Experienced Dreamweaver User Question



tomyknoker
03-13-2007, 04:45 AM
Just have a quick question about the testing server option in Dreamweaver if someone could help me out I'l post the queries...

the-dream
03-13-2007, 01:11 PM
post them an i can help

tomyknoker
03-13-2007, 03:01 PM
I'm confused about the testing server, when setting it all up I just put in all the host details in the testing server, but it appears to be working. From within Dreamweaver I can click a button and it makes my php page live. But someone said this was wrong they said the testing server has to be local on my computer...

the-dream
03-13-2007, 03:28 PM
Usually your testing server is on your local computer. To enable this you will have to install apache. If you want to use PHP you will have to install that and the same with MySQL. Its not that hard to do and there is free sofware to do it. If you are using windows there is a program called WAMP just google it to get to the site. If you are using Macintosh it's called MAMP same just google it. And if you are using Linux it is called LAMP same just google it. Then it is simple from there just set your sever to http://localhost/ there may be a port you have to set too. You will have a ' htdocs ' folder to store all of you files.

Hope that this info. I suggest setting your testing server to localhost and do all your testing then when you are ready FTP it to your server!

tomyknoker
03-13-2007, 03:37 PM
So why can't I do it the way I have been? Is it wrong?

aedrin
03-13-2007, 03:37 PM
But someone said this was wrong they said the testing server has to be local on my computer...

There is nothing wrong with this.

The recommendation is: don't push untested code to a production server.

This would only really matter if this is for a commercial website.

It doesn't matter too much for a personal website. Although it is generally easier/faster to test on a local server.

the-dream
03-13-2007, 03:40 PM
if you are going to this create a new dir to upload it to. don't upload it to the main dir because you might cause errors for some people.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum