View Full Version : Installing PHPMyAdmin onto Mac OS X (10.4) HELP!!

02-15-2007, 04:46 PM
Hey everyone..

I am trying my damdest to get PHPMyAdmin onto my new Mac..

I have somewhat limited knowledge of how to use terminal, so this is killing me.

I have installed both PHP and MySQL onto my Mac, and have placed PHPMyAdmin into the documents directory of the webserver folder.

Now, when I access it, it works, just it throws up and error saying:

Please create web server writable folder config in phpMyAdmin toplevel directory as described in documentation. Otherwise you will be only able to download or display it.

Now, how the heck do I do that??????????

Thanks in advance for anyone who can help!

P.S I have looked through the documentation, it tells you the same thing as the error!

02-15-2007, 05:58 PM
This link might help you:


Look under "setup script usage." For the record though, I have phpmyadmin installed on my OS X machine and no config folder and I don't get any warnings. I couldn't tell you why, though…

02-15-2007, 06:07 PM
I think if you manually install it and create/place the config file in the phpmyadmin root folder, you are all set.

There is an installation wizard in the latest version and if I remember correctly, it writes the config file it generates to the "config" folder and then you must copy it to the phpmyadmin root folder.

I am not a MAC person, but I would say, just create the requested folder with the proper permissions or manually create/place a config file in the phpmyadmin root folder.

02-15-2007, 06:21 PM
Thanks for the replies guys, I have hit blanks all over the web about this (especially at other forums..)

I am reading that article right now...

As for the manually creating it thing.. I tried that, it keeps coming up with another error saying that there is a socket error or somethin..

Thats why I wanted to install it with the setup script.

Also, a whole lot of articles I read are telling me to place a password in that config file that I entered when I originally installed MySQL, the thing is, I did no such thing!

I simply installed it with the wizard and that was it..

If you guys know how to 'Start MySQL' that would be great too..

I cant seem to figure that out either (feelin like such a noob.. omw..)