...

View Full Version : Display in textarea - what's wrong?



Lesley
11-30-2002, 03:13 PM
Hi !

I am at a loss. My page contains a form with the following text area..

<textarea name="textbody" value="type anything in here" cols=80 rows=2 wrap="soft"></textarea>

Surely this should display the value ="type anything in here" in the textbox ? I cannot work out why I am getting a blank box as if the value is not specified. The form works great otherwise.

Lesley

mark123
11-30-2002, 03:34 PM
Originally posted by Lesley
Instead of:<textarea name="textbody" value="type anything in here" cols=80 rows=2 wrap="soft"></textarea>

Try:


<input type="textarea" name="textbody" value="type anything in here" cols=80 rows=2 wrap="soft">


I think that value is an attribute of input and not of textarea. Cols and Rows don't seem to work though

MCookie
11-30-2002, 03:36 PM
:cool:

<textarea name="textbody" cols=80 rows=2 wrap="soft">Type anything in here</textarea>

mark123
11-30-2002, 03:39 PM
Originally posted by MCookie
:cool:

<textarea name="textbody" cols=80 rows=2 wrap="soft">Type anything in here</textarea> Oh yeah...that too! LOL.

Lesley
11-30-2002, 04:06 PM
Actually Mark - your version seemed to ignore the sizing of my box.

Thank you for trying though -

MCookie seems to have the answer, many thanks !

Lesley



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum