...

View Full Version : temp tables problem in 4.1



MattyJim
02-06-2007, 12:56 AM
hello!

i have a connection to a remote database server that runs mySQL 4.1.

when i connect to this database from my local web project, which runs in MS Visual InterDev on XP Pro using the bundled IIS server software, i can create temporary tables with no problem at all.

however, when i upload my web project to a remote server i do not seem to be able to create temporary tables even though i am using the exact same code and the exact same connection string.

it seems that all database operations are carried out perfectly with the exception of temporary table creation.

aaaaaaaaaarrrrrggghhhh!!! :mad: this is driving me absolutely nuts!!!


i'm assuming that it must have something to do with the remote server that my web project is hosted on, but i've no idea what the problem might be. i've tried messing around with the session.timout properties but to no avail.

do i need to use a particular 'type' of temporary table?

if anybody has any suggestions regarding the cause of this problem then i would be very grateful.

:)

guelphdad
02-06-2007, 01:20 AM
check the version of the server you are using and the one you are uploading to. I believe that older versions of mysql don't support temp tables. Check the older mysql manual for info.

MattyJim
02-06-2007, 01:37 AM
ah, sorry. looks as though i might've been a bit unclear with my question.

i'm connecting to exactly the same mySQL server in both instances.

i have a local web project on my PC, and i have a copy of this same project hosted as a website on a remote server.

both of these projects use the same connection string and connect to the same mySQL database / server.

i can create temp tables from the local project, so i'm assuming that i should be able to do so from the remote one, being as the tables would be created in the same mySQL database and i'm using the same code, etc.


...or at least i think this should be the case. nothing makes sense any more. sob. :confused:


i'm using .asp (vbScript), by the way; just in case it makes any difference.



thanks :)

MattyJim
02-07-2007, 12:01 AM
well, i've kind of sorted the problem - just in case anyone's interested.

looks as though it was my own fault that the temp tables were being dropped from the remote server, as my .asp code was closing the connection to the mySQL database.

silly me! :o

i still have no idea why this didn't happen on my local IIS though :confused:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum