...

View Full Version : Retrieving Mysql into web table



aktell
02-01-2007, 08:30 PM
Hi there,

I知 in need of some real help please.
Most likely this is nothing mayor for somebody who knows PhP well, unfortunately I知 not one of them yet.
OK, I知 trying to simply retrieve records from a table in Mysql. Say I have around 60 to 110 rows in a table of different members each with a (FirstName, LastName and Contact) field, and I would like to show them all on a web page.
As it is the first time I知 trying myself with table in PhP my question is, am I知 doing it right ??? Do I use the markers around the <br>, <div> and other tags in the right way ???

My code I have shown below includes several different code痴 which looked to me promising, well if somebody could help here so I can actually retrieve information from a specific table.

Many thanks in advance to the person/s trying to help.

aktell




<?php

echo "<p align=\"center\">";

$sort_order = 'ASC';
$order_by = 'FirstName';
$db_tablename = 'memberdetails';

$db_host = 'localhost';
$user = 'user';
$password = 'password';
$db_name = 'contactdetails';

// Connect to Myqsl.
$link = mysql_connect('$db_host', '$user', '$password', '$$db_name');
if (!$link) {
die('Could not connect to Mysql: ' . mysql_error());
}
//************
// // Check if connection was a success. (Ccould the <div> be use as below. ???)
// if (!$link){
// echo '<div>Can not connect to database: '.mysql_error().' </div>';
// die;
// }
//************

mysql_close($link);

$result = mysql("$db_name","SELECT FirstName, LastName, Contacts FROM $db_tablename $order_by $sort_order") or die(mysql_error());

//************
// Query.
//$sql = ("SELECT FirstName, LastName, Contacts FROM $db_tablename $order_by $sort_order");
//
// Perform Query.
//$result = mysql_query($sql);
// if(!$result) error_message(sql_error());
//************

// Set table.
echo ('<TR>');
echo ('<TD vAlign=\"top\" width=\"990\">');
echo ('<TABLE cellSpacing=\"0\" cellPadding=\"6\" width=\"90%\">');
echo ('<TR>');
echo ('<TD vAlign=\"top\" width=\"80%\">');
echo ('<p>&nbsp;</p>');
echo ('<p>&nbsp;</p>');
echo ('<br>');
echo ('<table width=\"535\" align=\"center\" cellPadding=\"2\" cellSpacing=\"2\">');
echo ('<tr>');
echo ('<td>');
// Table header.
echo ('<div align="center"><font face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" size=\"4\" color=\"#FFFFFF\">Contact List:</font></div><br>');
echo ('<br>');
echo ('<table width=\"500\" border=\"1\" borderColorLight=\"#000000\" cellPadding=\"2\" cellSpacing=\"0\">');

// This way. ??? **************************************************************************************************** **************** ???
while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) {
echo ('<tr bgcolor=\"#CCCCCC\">');
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"33%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"> echo $row['FirstName']; </td>'); // Or maybe - echo .$row0[0]. - ???
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"33%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"> echo $row['LastName']; </td>'); // Or maybe - echo .$row0[1]. - ???
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"33%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"> echo $row['Contacts']; </td>'); // Or maybe - echo .$row0[2]. - ???
echo ('</tr>');

echo ('<tr bgcolor=\"#CCCCCC\">');
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"25%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"> echo $row['FirstName']; </td>');
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"25%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"> echo $row['LastName']; </td>');
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"25%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"> echo $row['LastName']; </td>');
echo ('</tr>');

// Or this way. ??? **************************************************************************************************** ************ ???
$query_data = mysql_fetch_array($result); {

$firstname = $query_data["FirstName"]; // ???
$lastname = $query_data["LastName"]; // ???
$contacts = $query_data["Contacts"]; // ???

echo ('<tr bgcolor=\"#CCCCCC\">');
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"33%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"><?php echo $firstname; ?></td>'); // Or maybe - <?php echo $firstname = $query_data["FirstName"]; ?> - ???
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"33%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"><?php echo $lastname; ?></td>'); // Or maybe - <?php echo $lastname = $query_data["LastName"]; ?> - ???
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"33%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"><?php echo $contacts; ?></td>'); // Or maybe - <?php echo $contacts = $query_data["Contacts"]; ?> - ???
echo ('</tr>');

echo ('<tr bgcolor=\"#CCCCCC\">');
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"25%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"><?php echo $firstname; ?></td>');
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"25%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"><?php echo $lastname; ?></td>');
echo ('<td align=\"center\" width=\"25%\" bgcolor=\"#999999\"><?php echo $lastname; ?></td>');
echo ('</tr>');

echo ('</table>');
echo ('</td>');
echo ('</tr>');
echo ('</table>');
}
}

mysql_free_result($result);

?>


Below some other ideas ! But I would not know how to addapt IF.
*********************************************************************************

<?php
include "./common_db.inc";
$link_id = db_connect();
$result = mysql_list_fields("sample_db", "user", $link_id);

for($i=0; $i < mysql_num_fields($result); $i++ ) {
echo mysql_field_name($result,$i );
echo "(" . mysql_field_len($result, $i) . ")";
echo " - " . mysql_field_type($result, $i) . "<BR>";
echo " " . mysql_field_flags($result, $i) . "<BR>";
}
*********************************************************************************

while ($row = mysql_fetch_row($result)) {

// added code to use the tablename and select all records from that table
echo ('Table ' . $row[0] . 'br /><table>');
$sql="select * from " . $row[0];

$result2 = mysql_query($sql) or die ('SQL problem selecting from table');
if (mysql_num_rows($result2) >= 1){
echo ('<tr>');

while ($row2 = mysql_fetch_row($result2)) {
for ($i=0; $i<mysql_num_fields($result2), $i ++){
echo ('td>' . $row2[$i] . '</td>');
}
}
echo ('</tr>');
} else {
echo ('<tr><td colspan="999">No records for table' . $row[0] . '</td></tr>');
}
echo ('</table>');

mysql_free_result($result2);
}
*********************************************************************************

lansing
02-01-2007, 08:47 PM
In this line

$link = mysql_connect('$db_host', '$user', '$password', '$$db_name');

You have an extra dollar sign $ on the $db_name...What errors are you getting or are you just getting a blank page?

aktell
02-01-2007, 09:08 PM
In this line

$link = mysql_connect('$db_host', '$user', '$password', '$$db_name');

You have an extra dollar sign $ on the $db_name...What errors are you getting or are you just getting a blank page?

Hi there,
Thanks alot for your reply. I have not run the code as yet because I'm not sure if it is right at all I just put it together. I really need to know what to use in the end and what to take out to make it work.

Thanks aktell

Len Whistler
02-01-2007, 11:19 PM
You sure have a real mix of code, I assume cut/paste from a few different sources. Below is a real mess, and I have never seen anything like it with all those echo's.



<?php
echo ('<TR>');
echo ('<TD vAlign=\"top\" width=\"990\">');
echo ('<TABLE cellSpacing=\"0\" cellPadding=\"6\" width=\"90%\">');
echo ('<TR>');
echo ('<TD vAlign=\"top\" width=\"80%\">');
echo ('<p>&nbsp;</p>');
echo ('<p>&nbsp;</p>');
echo ('<br>');
echo ('<table width=\"535\" align=\"center\" cellPadding=\"2\" cellSpacing=\"2\">');
echo ('<tr>');
echo ('<td>');
?>

Should be:

<?php
echo "<TR><TD vAlign=\"top\" width=\"990\"><TABLE cellSpacing=\"0\"cellPadding=\"6\" width=\"90%\"><TR><TD vAlign=\"top\"width=\"80%\"><p>&nbsp;</p><p>&nbsp;</p><br><table width=\"535\" align=\"center\" cellPadding=\"2\" cellSpacing=\"2\"><tr><td>";
?>

OR, out side of php code


<TR><TD vAlign="top" width="990"><TABLE cellSpacing="0" cellPadding="6"width="90%"><TR><TD vAlign="top" width="80%"><p>&nbsp;</p><p>&nbsp;</p><br><table width="535" align="center" cellPadding="2" cellSpacing="2"><tr><td>



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum