View Full Version : Help using an array to update a table.

canada4ever
01-27-2007, 08:26 PM
Hi there.
I'm a definite php noob. What I'm trying to do is pull a couple variables off a table. Then update some variables and upload them to the server. I'm very badly confused right now. I keep trying things but I'm in over my head. If anyone could point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it.

Thanks
Matthew.

$sql = "SELECT id, stats_income, stats_gold, stats_farming, stats_food FROM stats";
$result = mysql_query($sql);
while ($stats = mysql_fetch_array($result));
{
$stats[$stats[id]] = $stats[id];
$stats_income[$stats[id]] = $stats[stats_income];
}
mysql_free_result($result);
foreach ($stats as $key => $val) {
$sql = "UPDATE stats
SET stats_gold = 200000
stats_turns = 200000
stats_food = 21111111
WHERE stats.id='$key'";
$result = mysql_query($sql);

lavinpj1
01-28-2007, 03:08 AM
I don't understand what you're trying to do. Could you clarify?

~Phil~

guelphdad
01-28-2007, 04:28 AM
you don't need the select statement if you are just updating your table.

Erockrm1
01-28-2007, 07:44 AM
you don't need the select statement if you are just updating your table.

I'm pretty sure he's trying to pull data from a SQL table and then re-enter new information.

canada4ever
01-29-2007, 01:25 AM
Sorry.... Let me try to clarify. What I'd like to do is that when this script is used I'd like it to pull stats_income and stats_farming then update stats_gold and stats_food to equal the original values for those two variables plus stats_income and stats_farming. I'd like to do this for all the entries in the table at once, hence the need for the array which I've never used before. Instead of update stats_gold = 200000 it should say update stats_gold = $stats_income +$stats_gold or something but I was messing around with something.
I hope that cleared it up a little.

Thanks a bunch!
Matthew

CFMaBiSmAd
01-29-2007, 02:13 AM