View Full Version : my count does not seem to be working with this variable [was: Is this right?]

ptmuldoon
01-17-2007, 11:42 PM
I'm still a rookie at this stuff. But is this sql query right?

I'm trying to count the number of players in a 'dead' state from a game.

$sql = 'SELECT COUNT(state) FROM game_'.$_SESSION['game_id']." WHERE state = 'dead' ";
$count_dead = get_one($sql);

GJay
01-17-2007, 11:54 PM
Did you try it?

It looks alright, but I'd question the sensible-ness of having a different table for each game...

koyama
01-17-2007, 11:55 PM
...could be right, but this depends on what get_one() is defined as.

Using built-in functions one would probably do

$sql = 'SELECT COUNT(state) FROM game_'.$_SESSION['game_id']." WHERE state = 'dead' ";
$result = mysql_query($sql);
list($count_dead) = mysql_fetch_row($result);

Are you getting error messages?
simultaneous post

ptmuldoon
01-18-2007, 02:49 PM
Thanks guys. I got the above figured out. Turns out the error wasn't pointing to that line afterall.

But I'm to one more step here: FYI, each game does require its own name.

Essentially, I'm looking to count up the number of players in the games_xx table, and that number to the user's total_players field. I've learned alot in the last few days, and think I need foreach command, but not sure how to go about it. This is what I have so far, and I hope its right;

// Add total players in game to user table
$sql = 'SELECT player FROM game_'.$_SESSION['game_id'];
$ply_name = get_one($sql);

$sql = 'SELECT COUNT(player) FROM game_'.$_SESSION['game_id'];
$players = get_one($sql);
$numplayers = "$players) - 1";

$sql = 'SELECT total_players FROM users WHERE login = \''.$ply_name.'\'';
$total_plyr = get_one($sql);
$total_player = "$total_plyr + $numplayers";

I think they above looks correct, but I'm not sure on the last step on how to search the users table and UPDATE the total_players field to the new $total_player string.

ptmuldoon
01-18-2007, 04:05 PM