...

View Full Version : javascript/flash problem



extremewebdesig
01-15-2007, 03:43 AM
Hello all:

start off im new to javascript/flash, so bear with me, im trying to load a flash intro movie, i got it to work for me on ie7 and the newest firefox, and a few other ppl can see it but there are some that can, and it is just a blank page, here is my .js file called intromovie.js

// JavaScript Document

document.write('<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="700" height="450">');
document.write('<param name="movie" value="intromovie.swf"');
document.write('<param name="autoStart" value="-1"></object>');

and here is my html code to pull that file


<td width="700" height="450" valign="top">


<script type="text/javascript" src="intromovie.js"></script>

</td>
like i said it works for some ppl, and not for others. it works for me so i can't find a problem at all. and the other ppl that can't see it use the same browsers, and im doing it this way to prevent the extra click and when you move your mouse over it you don't get the boarder., is anyone can help that would be great. thanks for all your time
Jeremy

BY THE WAY HERE IS THE SITE IM WORKING ON
http://bull****account.zexxo.net/index.html

TripperTreats
01-15-2007, 05:58 AM
There are several reasons this might not be working. One is here:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-14609.html

The other is due to Adobe and Flash not being fully DOM compliant. If you use Flash in your pages, you absolutely MUST start using SWFObject:

http://blog.deconcept.com/swfobject/

Hope this helps,

extremewebdesig
01-15-2007, 03:21 PM
ok i went ahead and added this with out the .js file but like i said in the msg above, it still works but now i have the border and the 3rd click for the flash files, is there a way to get rid of this, because it is really bothering and doesn't look that good, here is the new code

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0" width="700" height="450">
<param name="movie" value="intromovie.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<embed src="intromovie.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="700" height="450"></embed>
</object>

and here the the page that it is on
is say click to activate and use this control???????????????
http://bull****account.zexxo.net/index.html

please help
thanks
jeremy



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum