View Full Version : How to connect MS Access?

01-12-2007, 01:05 AM
I want to use ms access with php .
Has anybody used php with MS Access. If Yes would you not mind share a bit with me.
Thanks in advance

01-12-2007, 01:15 AM
This is a forum for MySQL questions only. In future please post your access questions to the general database forum.

I'll move the thread for you.

01-12-2007, 01:41 AM
Pardon me..
There is a section named other databases so i post this thread.
By the way question is related to PHP.
Or i m in dilemma?

01-12-2007, 07:41 PM
Never had to do it myself, but ODBC? Or perhaps COM...yikes:
ODBC (found on google):

Here's my google search:

Good luck.

01-13-2007, 03:24 AM
It depends on your host. I'd check with them. Some have it set up where you have to set up a DSN. Is there any particular reason why you'd want to use Access?

I haven't done this in forever but......

If this is a local machine...and its using windows...you set up your DSN by going to: Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Data Sources (ODBC)

Click the System DSN tab up top...

Click Add.

Find "Microsoft Access Driver" (its like the 6th or 7th one)

Create a data source name. (something unique with no spaces)

Click select and browse to your database.

You can check out PHP.net to find out the scripting you'd have to use to talk to it tho.