...

View Full Version : relevance of i frames..



select sires
11-26-2002, 05:59 AM
I'm constructing (or re-constructing) my page using a table. The site formerly used frames, but i've been told that it would function better using tables. As I understand it, the links can either reload a completely dif. table, that is the same as the original with one <td> being different, mainly the body of the page, but from looking around it looks like some pages incorporate an i frame into their table. This seems to make sense because you can target it, yet still use the construct of a table.
i added one into the code, just to see how it works. It seems to function ok.

basically, i am looking for some understanding of what an i frame is, why they exist, what their purpose is/can be, and what drawbacks there are. Also, am i attempting to use it correctly.

Thanks for any help,

SS.

dhtroy
11-26-2002, 05:55 PM
The IFRAME element functions as a document within a document, or like a floating FRAME. You can specify a SRC attribute that loads an external HTML document into the frame. You can, of course, reference this object through the DOM as well (since it's a W3 standard).

IE 5.5 also allows for the use of Transparency with an iFrame.

Hope that answers your question.

brothercake
11-26-2002, 07:32 PM
The main drawback is browser support - IE4+, gecko and Opera all support iframes, but ns4 does not. ns4 has <ilayer> ... but trust me, don't go there ;) (but can provide info if you want)

Another thing - not a drawback but a useful note - iframe references are different in different browsers - for IE and Opera, an iframe is a child of the document object while for mozilla it's a child of the window object. The following works for me:



if(typeof document.all!="undefined" || typeof window.opera!="undefined") {
document.frames["name"].location = "page.html";
}
else if (typeof document.getElementById!="undefined") {
window.frames["name"].location = "page.html";
}

allida77
11-26-2002, 08:05 PM
yeah I would say browser support. I use iframes on our intranet alot when dealing with large volumes of data. I find them extremely useful in an intranet environment but would not reccomend them on internet sites because of browser support.

select sires
11-26-2002, 08:49 PM
ok, that seems to make sense.
one of my internet saavy friends was scolding me for even considering i frames, so i decided to see how it looks, but considering the browser issue, it seems to make sense not to.

so does this make sense:
(this is my better option that he had given me)

since working in tables, instead of frames, the main navigation links would basically, link to a whole new page, that just appears like the index, but with one of the data cells having new info.
it seems like a more difficult way to do frames, but i had been having problems with my layout getting skewed, and "tables!" he said, was the answer.

SS



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum