...

View Full Version : I am new but learning



upstreamaccess
01-10-2007, 03:40 AM
Hello, I've about given up trying to figure this out on my own. Please help.

How do I avoid this error when there is no matching record.


Either BOF or EOF is True, or the current record has been deleted. Requested operation requires a current record.

I've stripped down the code in my page to the bare minimum for your review. When there is a matching record, it comes up. When there isn't, I can't get past the error. I am not passing URL info but simply opening a page and expect the record set to come up blank when there isn't a match.

Here is the code. Thank you enormously for helping me past this.

<%@LANGUAGE="VBSCRIPT" CODEPAGE="1252"%>
<!--#include file="Connections/ProjexDB.asp" -->
<%
Dim Recordset1
Dim Recordset1_cmd
Dim Recordset1_numRows

Set Recordset1_cmd = Server.CreateObject ("ADODB.Command")
Recordset1_cmd.ActiveConnection = MM_ProjexDB_STRING
Recordset1_cmd.CommandText = "SELECT * FROM Status WHERE Customer = 'Trident Formulas'"
Recordset1_cmd.Prepared = true

Set Recordset1 = Recordset1_cmd.Execute
Recordset1_numRows = 0
%>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>

<body>
<form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="">
<%=(Recordset1.Fields.Item("Customer").Value)%>
</form>
</body>
</html>
<%
Recordset1.Close()
Set Recordset1 = Nothing
%>

mehere
01-10-2007, 07:10 AM
add this before the code you want to display

if Recordset1.EOF and Recordset1.BOF then
response.Write("No records found.)
else
--current code you use to display the data
end if

upstreamaccess
01-10-2007, 11:19 PM
Thank you.

I had come across that code before, but was never sure exactly how or where to included it. Even now I had trouble coding your insert the right way, but after a few permutations, I got it.

I appreciate your help. - Andrew

upstreamaccess
01-10-2007, 11:20 PM
Thank you.

I had come across that code before, but was never sure exactly how or where to included it. Even now I had trouble coding your insert the right way, but after a few permutations, I got it.

I appreciate your help.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum