...

View Full Version : motherboard that supports AMD or Pentium?



cryonic
11-25-2002, 02:10 PM
I m sorry if this question was brought out before,i would like to know if there are any motherboards that would support both pentium or AMD proccessors?Do there exist?A friend isselling me a motherboard that he assures would support proccessors from AMD Pentium 1,2 and 3. Is it a fake?

Wichetael
11-25-2002, 03:25 PM
I'd definately say it's fake, I've never seen anything like it, and it would be very hard to make as all these processors have different sockets/slots..

for Athlons you have Slot A and Socket A
for P1 you have Socket 5 and Socket 7
for P2 you have Slot 1
for P3 you have Slot 1 and Socket 370
for P4 you have Socket 423 and Socket 478

So that'd mean you need 8 different sockets/slots on the board just to be able to place all different CPU's and then you'd still need either a chipsets that supports everything (which doesn't exist) or you'd need some 6 to 10 different chipsets for the various architectures of the processors...

So in short... Bull****

mouse
11-25-2002, 05:16 PM
No such thing. Different chips have different numbers of pins and different arrangements. They also require chipsets produced to operate with certain breeds. The packaging is also different socket A being considerably larger than S478 for example.

whammy
11-26-2002, 12:45 AM
What mouse said. Also FYI, Pentium "speeds" (what they name the cpu's) are misleading.

Thejavaman1
11-26-2002, 09:07 AM
Originally posted by whammy
What mouse said. Also FYI, Pentium "speeds" (what they name the cpu's) are misleading.

You mean the Athlon's? P4's are labeled by their actual clock speed while the Athlon's are labeled using PR ratings...

mouse
11-26-2002, 05:21 PM
Originally posted by whammy
What mouse said. Also FYI, Pentium "speeds" (what they name the cpu's) are misleading. AMD "speeds" are nothing to do with their actual clock - as it is with Intel - AMD use the clock speed a T-bird would need to achieve equal performance. Madness really and devised by the same bunch that screwed Enron as I understand it. :eek:

oracleguy
11-26-2002, 05:51 PM
The only boards that supported AMD and Intel were way back in the Pentium 1/K5/K6 days... Socket 7 boards had the support; I have a few of those boards around... and they are an intel chipset that supports amd cpus :eek:

whammy
11-27-2002, 01:01 AM
Oops, you're right - kind of. I had it backwards (although Intel is ALSO misleading in a way, which is what prompted AMD to do that in the first place!). But it doesn't matter, because AMD has announced they are pulling out of the desktop market. :eek:

oracleguy
11-27-2002, 02:49 AM
Originally posted by whammy
But it doesn't matter, because AMD has announced they are pulling out of the desktop market. :eek:

:eek: Where'd you read/hear that?

Thejavaman1
11-27-2002, 09:45 AM
Originally posted by whammy
Oops, you're right - kind of. I had it backwards (although Intel is ALSO misleading in a way, which is what prompted AMD to do that in the first place!). But it doesn't matter, because AMD has announced they are pulling out of the desktop market. :eek:

As much as I like to support the underdog, that is a quite laughable statment right now. They may be gaining market share, but ask most people about Intel and they will know about it, AMD not as many will know who it is...

Wichetael
11-27-2002, 10:55 AM
Originally posted by oracleguy
The only boards that supported AMD and Intel were way back in the Pentium 1/K5/K6 days... Socket 7 boards had the support; I have a few of those boards around... and they are an intel chipset that supports amd cpus :eek:

Yes, but that's only because AMD was building processors complying to Intel's architecture. They dove into the deep with the Athlon/Duron by creating their own architecture.

oracleguy
11-28-2002, 01:19 AM
Originally posted by Thejavaman1

They may be gaining market share, but ask most people about Intel and they will know about it, AMD not as many will know who it is...

Your exactly right, not enough people know about AMD. They just don't advertise enough.

AMD also would be much better off to drop this PR code rubbish and just call the cpu by its actually clock speed. So instead of a 2400+ AXP being compared with a 2.4GHz Pentium 4, they'd compare it with a 2GHz Pentium 4 and it would out perform it. But since they are using dumb PR codes you'd compare it with the 2.4 P4 and the AXP does the same as the P4 in some areas and maybe a few places it might actually do better but there is also going to be places where the P4 blows the AXP out of the water.

ionsurge
11-28-2002, 11:24 AM
hehe how tapped must your friend be? lol... no such thing, never will be.



Ionsurge.

cryonic
11-28-2002, 02:58 PM
ha ha, my fren really almost pulled my legs, i m gonna check dat motherboard and c wat other info i can get,well it was a looong time i heard of such motherborad, i d figure of getting one as an antique but i was wonderiing if it was true coz its been a very long time i had heard of a motherboard like dat, but i m gonna check it out again and c wat i can tell,u guys were a GREAT HELP, btw i do not know much of AMD..dats why this thread starts.If i know more of AMD, it might help me alot.For me, the only problem i c wif AMD i c is overheating probs, since my room is hot and i dun reali like its overheating probs it gives, other than dat, AMD processors are GOOD and most of all damn affordable than Pentium.I ll b back with more info on that motherboard, if its on sale....yeah i think my fren reaaly had 'nice' tongue....

HellFire
12-04-2002, 10:32 AM
Oracleguy was right, the only existing ones like that are the old ones. I wouldn't exactly say it's impossible for one to be made now though even with the different sizes and all. Couldn't it be done if the motherboard was made with dual sockets, one for AMD and the other for Pentium? No matter what though, it will never be done, AMD and Intel would never agree to it.


Originally posted by oracleguy
and the AXP does the same as the P4 in some areas and maybe a few places it might actually do better
Actually what I have heard is that AMDs are better for gamming which is very popular right now.

oracleguy
12-05-2002, 04:19 AM
Well one way to have current motherboard support all cpus would be to have a slot 2 or something that has tons of pins and build riser cards that have the chipset and a socket for the cpu on it. So if you wanted to change cpu types, just replace the riser card. The only downside would be that it would be a real challege to actually build and be expensive.

Of course, like previously mentioned, it would never happen.

Thejavaman1
12-05-2002, 05:38 AM
Originally posted by HellFire

Actually what I have heard is that AMDs are better for gamming which is very popular right now.

most benchmarks put P4's in the lead simply because they can OC out the wazzo. I have seen 1.6A's running at around 2.8 using stock cooling (with AS3 instead of the TIM though), and some of the new chips with sub zero cooling have been getting in the high 3ghz low 4ghz range...

mouse
12-05-2002, 09:32 AM
Originally posted by oracleguy
Well one way to have current motherboard support all cpus would be to have a slot 2 or something that has tons of pins and build riser cards that have the chipset and a socket for the cpu on it. So if you wanted to change cpu types, just replace the riser card. The only downside would be that it would be a real challege to actually build and be expensive.

Of course, like previously mentioned, it would never happen. Hey how about a fully modular mobo? then overclockers needn't hack off clock generators and do silly voltage modifications, you could buy a chipset seperately (see what Intel charge for that!) or add as many - or few - PCI slots as you want. :D

cryonic
12-06-2002, 05:20 PM
Thanks guy u were alot of help of information.Well, I almost fell for a cheap brat lie. OK u were right,it was a very old motherboard...damn forgotten what name it was..that supported Pentium 1 and was it AMD K6 or K7.Well i d admit i found that in a secondhand junkshop...Well, so its true they aint any motherboard that supports Pentium3 and above with AMD..YET.

Well, I was intending to upgrade my motherboard with my current Pentium3 proccessor,alas i realise that such motherboard with slot 1 are unavailable or hardly unavailable in my areas.If I were to get a new motherboard, i would had to chipped more for a P4 processor which...SUCKS coz i would had to spend more.I didn't know much about AMD and er...almost fell for the guy selling me a 'fake' hope. I had to opt for a second hand slot 1 motherboard and finally got it, i didn't fell easily for that 'fake' motherboard that would somehow support 'all kinds' of processor.. thanks to this forum and you guys.

BTW slot 1 looks kinda nice, i mean...yeah it unique.. How come there is no 'SLOT 2'?

mouse
12-07-2002, 11:45 AM
Originally posted by cryonic
BTW slot 1 looks kinda nice, i mean...yeah it unique.. How come there is no 'SLOT 2'? You should be able to find a decent Slot 1 board with an Intel chipset, Abit, Asus, Epox and Gigabyte are my brands of choice.

There's no Slot 2 because Intel and AMD both decided slots were an inferior method to sockets, maybe due to the increasing number of pins on processors these days.

Thejavaman1
12-07-2002, 09:50 PM
Originally posted by mouse

There's no Slot 2 because Intel and AMD both decided slots were an inferior method to sockets, maybe due to the increasing number of pins on processors these days.

Yeah, that would probably be the main reason (the sledgehammer would require almost 1000 contact for the one slot, that would be a big slot, even the P4 would need almost 500). But also it is probably easier to have heatsinks that are parallel to the mobo than perpendicular stress wise. I know my Alpha would put some stress on a slot CPU, and some of those all copper cooler might kill a slot CPU...

Wichetael
12-08-2002, 12:21 PM
Actually Slot 2 does exist, it's only enterprise server CPUs though... Anyway I guess they went back to sockets was the simple reason that slot processors tend to experience more connection problems then socket processors. Another reason is probably the continued downsizing of components, one of the reasons they started with the slots is because they wanted to take some of the processor support components off the main board...



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum