...

View Full Version : Help With Site Template



ahallicks
01-03-2007, 03:42 PM
Hey guys,

My website found here (http://www.ahallicks.co.uk) looks just the way I want it to on the homepage. I really like the effect of the guitar stood just next to it. However, if you click on the 'music' link at the top there is a problem. If you are using Firefox then you should be able to see the guitar correctly and the scroll bar underneath. However, I have used relative positioning to place an extra image of the guitar over the top of the old one, but when viewed in IE it completely messes everything up.

Three things... firstly, anyone think of a better way of getting that guitar to sit there and me still have content and a scroll bar.

Secondly, why won't the positioning work properly? My CSS can be found here (http://www.ahallicks.co.uk/resources/style.css) for the normal one, and my IE-Specific Stylesheet here (http://www.ahallicks.co.uk/resources/ie-style.css)

And thirdly, is there anyway to create transparency on the scroll bar so I could lay that over the top of the guitar?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, cheers!

Conteo
01-03-2007, 04:07 PM
nice looking template that, is it free?

Benji1012
01-03-2007, 04:20 PM
I am not sure if you want this is what you want to do?
But I use it on my site.

If you put in a 'if' statement in the BODY it will show a different page in ie than in ff or ns.

1. Paste the coding into the BODY of your HTML document -->

<script language="JavaScript" type='text/javascript'>
<!-- Begin
var name = navigator.appName
if (name == "Microsoft Internet Explorer")
url=("http://www.yoursite.co.uk/ie.html");
else
url=("http://www.yoursite.co.uk/netscape.html")
window.location=url

// End -->
</script>

ahallicks
01-03-2007, 04:46 PM
I use a conditional statement to allow for a separate IE stylesheet, and this is an option if I can't get what I want to work, so thanks for that.

But what I really want is it to be dsiplayed as close to Firefox as is possible.

And no the template is not free, sorry! :p Mate of mine built it for my work place.

Benji1012
01-03-2007, 05:53 PM
But what I really want is it to be dsiplayed as close to Firefox as is possible.

place.

I am not sure what you mean by being close to FF

ahallicks
01-03-2007, 07:11 PM
If you view the page http://www.ahallicks.co.uk/newpage.php in Firefox, the guitar that is free standing in the bottom right of the site is laid over the top of the content and scroll bar sections. In IE, the relate positioning does not work for some reason?

It creates a big white space at the top of the content sectionbut still moves the image where I have placed it...

Basically, I'm trying to get rid of the white space in IE



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum