View Full Version : <td> Background

12-30-2006, 06:11 PM
I'm currently working on a new design for a forum skin. The following is the original mockup of what I want to do:
http://img367.imageshack.us/img367/5274/devpn4.th.jpg (http://img367.imageshack.us/img367/5274/devpn4.jpg)

I rebuilt some of the code and started using it on a local setup. It looked absolutely fine, basically identical to the mockup, until this morning, when it randomly did this (header area):
http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/6651/127fy7.th.jpg (http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/6651/127fy7.jpg)

It's doing that with the same code that it used when it was displaying correctly. I've tried moving around the location of the PNG for the header, both locally and on a server.

Here's the HTML (the 'top' td is the one for the header):

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<td class="topleft">
<td class="top">
<td class="topright">
{Remainder of Table}

And here is the corresponding CSS:

background: url(http://www.technologisticsforums.com/dev/style_images/vista/top.png);
background-repeat: repeat-x;
color: #000;
font-size: 11px;
font-weight: bold;
margin: 0px;

I've tried reinstalling the board, the original skin, as well as using different packages of software to use it locally. I've also used various different browsers, clearing the cache as well.

Does anyone have an idea as to why it won't show up? :confused:

12-30-2006, 06:45 PM
Hello coolcamo8642,
If you run the validator on that page it shows you've got a missing </div>, need to close <div id="logostrip">

But tile_back.png loaded fine for me on IE7 and FF2.

Page looks kind of funny if your browser is open more than the 1171px width of Aurora.jpg, maybe it needs to be repeated...or a max-width.
Same thing is going to happen on the y axis when you get content and have to scroll down so maybe you already knew about it.

12-30-2006, 11:47 PM
I guess I didn't make it apparent what I was asking about...

The aurora (aqua) background one was a prototype with an older version of the original design. Since a newer version of the design is out, I want to implement this newer interface.

The leaf background one is what I'm currently working on. top.png is this part:

The code that I use to show top.png, found in the first post, actually showed it before. Then it suddenly stopped appearing. There isn't a live sample as I develop it locally. The image below illustrates where top.png should be showing at, but no longer does for some unknown reason:
http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/2716/redboxnp1.th.jpg (http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/2716/redboxnp1.jpg)