View Full Version : Beginner Help: Classes

aoberoi
12-24-2006, 10:03 PM
I'm just starting out to use PHP. I have version 4.4.4 that was preinstalled on my MacBook Pro. I want to know why this code does not produce what is expected:

<?php

class testClass {
$testvar;
$testvar2;

function myFunction() {
echo $testvar."</br>".$testvar2."</br>";
}

function setOne($str) {
$testvar = $str;
}

function setTwo($str) {
$testvar2 = $str;
}
}

$mycls = new testClass;

$mycls->setOne("hello");

?>

At this point, Dreamweaver stops highlighting the syntax. This seems to happen right after the "->" operator. Then when I try to view the page in my browser, and all i get is:

setOne("hello"); ?>

it seems that for some reason the "->" ends the php script. Is there something I'm not understanding about the way classes work? Any help is much appreciated. Thank you.

ess
12-24-2006, 10:56 PM
Here are a couple of things that I have noticed from your script.
1- When you declare variables in a class, you should use the var keyword. This is only applicable to PHP4, in PHP5, you should state whether a variable is public, or private instead of using keyword var.
2- When referring to a variable declared in a class, you should use $this->variable_name

Here is a very simple class I have written to explain this further.

<?php
class Person {
var $name; // instance variable to hold person's name
var $age; // instance variable to hold person's age

// class constructor
function Person( $name, $age ) {
// when referring to instance variable $name, we use $this->name
$this->name = $name;
$this->age = $age;
}

function toString() {
return "<b>Name: </b>" . $this->name . "<br><b>Age: </b>" . $this->age;
}

}
// create a new instance of type Person
$person = new Person( "John", "Smith" );
// output person by calling toString function/method
echo $person->toString();
?>

if there is any other question, please let's know.

good luck.

Ess

aoberoi
12-24-2006, 11:46 PM