PDA

View Full Version : mysql_result error: invalid resource



jaywhy13
12-24-2006, 09:44 PM
What am I doing wrong?


<?php
//header ("Context-Type: text/xml");
$usr = $_GET["usr"];


$psw = $_GET["psw"];

echo "Username is: $usr, and psw is: $psw";

$conn = mysql_connect ("localhost","jay","") or die ("No connection available");
$db = mysql_select_db ("rlaPool") or die ("Could not find database");

$query = "SELECT * FROM usrs WHERE usrs.usr=$usr";

$result = mysql_result ($result,$conn) or die ("<b>That didn't work!!!!</b>") ;

?>

I get error
Warning: mysql_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /var/www/jail/labtec/login.php on line 14

If I try

$result = mysql_result ($result) or die ("<b>That didn't work!!!!</b>") ;

I get wrong param count


Someone plz just quickly call me stupid and tell me what I did wrong... coz I can't belive I'm stuck at this point.

bhav
12-24-2006, 09:51 PM
<?
$conn = mysql_connect ("localhost","jay","") or die ("No connection available");/* remember that it will be for example if your hosting account name was domain the sql username would be domain_jay not just jay*/


$db = mysql_select_db ("rlaPool") or die ("Could not find database"); /* same goes here so it would be domain_rlaPool */
?>

jaywhy13
12-24-2006, 10:08 PM
But I have die statements for all of them, if I comment out the mysql_query line then it gives NO error. And I don't recall ever using the doman_ thing

Crimsonjade
12-24-2006, 10:15 PM
I am not sure I agree with bhav either. I have used hosting where it did not force me to use domain_username.

jaywhy13, i think the solution to your problem is:


$query = "SELECT * FROM usrs WHERE usrs.usr=$usr"; // not sending a query

$result = mysql_query($query); // now my query is sent


edit:
Also, why are you sticking $conn in the mysql_result function?

See this: http://us2.php.net/mysql_result

jaywhy13
12-24-2006, 10:34 PM
I am not sure I agree with bhav either. I have used hosting where it did not force me to use domain_username.

jaywhy13, i think the solution to your problem is:


$query = "SELECT * FROM usrs WHERE usrs.usr=$usr"; // not sending a query

$result = mysql_query($query); // now my query is sent


edit:
Also, why are you sticking $conn in the mysql_result function?

See this: http://us2.php.net/mysql_result


$result = mysql_result ($result,$conn) or die ("<b>That didn't work!!!!</b>") ;

I'm using php 5 and when I try just using result alone if gives me a wrong param count error....


Edit:
I just finished exams @ school, I can tell I am stressed. I really should have been using mysql_query instead of result... That fixed it.

Thanks man... it's working now

Crimsonjade
12-24-2006, 11:03 PM
$result = mysql_result ($result,$conn) or die ("<b>That didn't work!!!!</b>") ;

I'm using php 5 and when I try just using result alone if gives me a wrong param count error....

I think the second parameter is
The row number from the result that's being retrieved. Row numbers start at 0.

Glad it worked.