...

View Full Version : PHP Drop down navigation help



Spit_Me_Out
12-23-2006, 05:38 AM
as some of you know, if you saw my previous thread, I am designing a new look for my website. And with this new look, I want some more advanced features to make it more proffessional, and still really cool.

I want my navigation to have a few main titles, then when your mouse hovers over them, a menu scrolls down with links for around my website.

I want it like this website.

http://www.pulseofthemaggots.com/home.php

But, I don't want to use java script, I prefer PHP. So if there is a way to accomplish this with php, can someone please point me in the right dirrection to get started on this?

Yes, I have tried searching, but all I can come up with on tutorials and stuff is like a pull down menu. and I don't really care for those much. And they look icky. :p

Any and all help is apreciated.

truviet911
12-23-2006, 08:34 AM
you can do it within dreamweaver. there is no coded need.

whizard
12-23-2006, 05:00 PM
You can't do it with PHP. PHP is a server side language, which means the server goes through the code and does all the PHP commands, and then sends the finished product to the client (browser).

That is why there is never any browser compatibility issues with PHP.

On the other hand, JavaScript is handled by the browser, so it can be used to affect items on the page after the browser has loaded the page.

So, you cannot use PHP to build a drop down menu, but believe it or not, you can actually use CSS instead of JavaScript if you want.

Here are some articles on CSS drop downs:

http://alistapart.com/articles/horizdropdowns
http://alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns
http://www.htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/
http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menus/final_drop.html

HTH,
Dan

Spit_Me_Out
12-23-2006, 08:14 PM
you can do it within dreamweaver. there is no coded need.

I Don't have dreamweaver. I can't afford it. Part of the reason is I am only 15. And the other part is My parents can't afford it either. lol. It is just to expensive. I use Notepad for all my web development. A little more time consuming, but I still get the job done.


You can't do it with PHP. PHP is a server side language, which means the server goes through the code and does all the PHP commands, and then sends the finished product to the client (browser).

That is why there is never any browser compatibility issues with PHP.

On the other hand, JavaScript is handled by the browser, so it can be used to affect items on the page after the browser has loaded the page.

So, you cannot use PHP to build a drop down menu, but believe it or not, you can actually use CSS instead of JavaScript if you want.

Here are some articles on CSS drop downs:

http://alistapart.com/articles/horizdropdowns
http://alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns
http://www.htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/
http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menus/final_drop.html

HTH,
Dan


I didn't think I could do it with PHP. But I thought I would ask. Javascript maybe.

But you say I can do it will CSS. I will have to take a look at that. Maybe something I will look into.

Thanks for the links. They will help me quite a bit.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum