...

View Full Version : YOU the WEB DESIGNERS ?????



Rich_uk2003
11-23-2002, 01:46 PM
you people are obviously good website people so if you could look at my site mainly the front page and see how i can make it better and more atractive .

ionsurge
11-23-2002, 04:19 PM
My main point is do not host with Geocities, go for something like Brinkster, which is completely advert and popup free (www.brinkster.com).


I forgot what I else was gonna say, so I will end it there.


Otherwise it is fine.



Ionsurge.

Rich_uk2003
11-23-2002, 04:32 PM
i no but ive already started for ages and just wanted your oppinion .

bcarl314
11-23-2002, 05:12 PM
One thing I would suggest is a consistant navigational structure. I notice on the home page you've got the nav on the sides, then in other pages it's at the top. I personally HATE having to look all over a page for the navigation more than once. When I first visit a site, I expect to need to look around for the nav structure, but once I find it, I expect it to be in the same place for the whole site.

Just my 2 cents.

Rich_uk2003
11-23-2002, 05:14 PM
i want a navigational menu bar at the top with pull down bits but i dont now where to get them and ive tried dynamicdrive.com does any one no where i can get them and for free using html or dhtml .

cg9com
11-24-2002, 04:04 AM
i get that little error icon in the status bar from geocities code insertion, (i hate that)

i say change the background color, unless youve got some really pretty colors to contrast it, black backgrounds will make any website look like poo :)

otherwise its not bad, i love vipers
a friend of mine has a red RT/10 and blue GTS - beautiful

P.S. you may wanna fix your signature ;)

Dalziel
11-25-2002, 03:22 PM
Geocities script causes an error, add this code to surpress it

<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function Killer()
{
return true;
}
window.onerror = Killer;
//-->
</script>

undyingfires
11-25-2002, 04:22 PM
Suggestion.. change (fix it) the colour scheme... I think you can do great with this with the right set-up and colours :) (and background).

Also, why not make the words for your Nav, linkable too?
The first thing I did when I went for the nav, was try and click the words, not the arrows (I know.. even though you state that above).
I don't think you need to tell visitors to click on the arrows :o but that's just my opinion.

Also regarding your 'Links' section of the Nav. Why not include:
target="_blank" in the hyperlink code, so that your page stays put and a new window opens for the URL chosen?

Good luck :D

Dalziel
11-25-2002, 10:08 PM
I agree about the words and the arrows, I tried clicking the words too.

Rich_uk2003
11-25-2002, 10:48 PM
can you post like an example link for opening in a new page .

CitznFish
11-25-2002, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by Rich_uk2003
can you post like an example link for opening in a new page .

<A HREF="blah.html" target="_blank">I will open in a new window</A>


I would only use this for links that point outside of your website...

whammy
11-26-2002, 01:54 AM
Dalziel, that's not a bad idea... at least that's not trying to "hack" the geocities scripts.

I know it's very annoying for the advertising scripts to error out, when you have no control over the ad content that geocities inserts into your pages (although I won't use them anymore, since I have a need for server-side scripting).

I'd double check with geocities to make sure that was allowable by their policy, but that seems completely reasonable to me (for once!). This might make an interesting thread itself.

:)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum