View Full Version : YOU the WEB DESIGNERS ?????

11-23-2002, 01:46 PM
you people are obviously good website people so if you could look at my site mainly the front page and see how i can make it better and more atractive .

11-23-2002, 04:19 PM
My main point is do not host with Geocities, go for something like Brinkster, which is completely advert and popup free (www.brinkster.com).

I forgot what I else was gonna say, so I will end it there.

Otherwise it is fine.


11-23-2002, 04:32 PM
i no but ive already started for ages and just wanted your oppinion .

11-23-2002, 05:12 PM
One thing I would suggest is a consistant navigational structure. I notice on the home page you've got the nav on the sides, then in other pages it's at the top. I personally HATE having to look all over a page for the navigation more than once. When I first visit a site, I expect to need to look around for the nav structure, but once I find it, I expect it to be in the same place for the whole site.

Just my 2 cents.

11-23-2002, 05:14 PM
i want a navigational menu bar at the top with pull down bits but i dont now where to get them and ive tried dynamicdrive.com does any one no where i can get them and for free using html or dhtml .

11-24-2002, 04:04 AM
i get that little error icon in the status bar from geocities code insertion, (i hate that)

i say change the background color, unless youve got some really pretty colors to contrast it, black backgrounds will make any website look like poo :)

otherwise its not bad, i love vipers
a friend of mine has a red RT/10 and blue GTS - beautiful

P.S. you may wanna fix your signature ;)

11-25-2002, 03:22 PM
Geocities script causes an error, add this code to surpress it

<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
function Killer()
return true;
window.onerror = Killer;

11-25-2002, 04:22 PM
Suggestion.. change (fix it) the colour scheme... I think you can do great with this with the right set-up and colours :) (and background).

Also, why not make the words for your Nav, linkable too?
The first thing I did when I went for the nav, was try and click the words, not the arrows (I know.. even though you state that above).
I don't think you need to tell visitors to click on the arrows :o but that's just my opinion.

Also regarding your 'Links' section of the Nav. Why not include:
target="_blank" in the hyperlink code, so that your page stays put and a new window opens for the URL chosen?

Good luck :D

11-25-2002, 10:08 PM
I agree about the words and the arrows, I tried clicking the words too.

11-25-2002, 10:48 PM
can you post like an example link for opening in a new page .

11-25-2002, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by Rich_uk2003
can you post like an example link for opening in a new page .

<A HREF="blah.html" target="_blank">I will open in a new window</A>

I would only use this for links that point outside of your website...

11-26-2002, 01:54 AM
Dalziel, that's not a bad idea... at least that's not trying to "hack" the geocities scripts.

I know it's very annoying for the advertising scripts to error out, when you have no control over the ad content that geocities inserts into your pages (although I won't use them anymore, since I have a need for server-side scripting).

I'd double check with geocities to make sure that was allowable by their policy, but that seems completely reasonable to me (for once!). This might make an interesting thread itself.