...

View Full Version : CSS layout messed up in IE, need help!!!



earth4x
12-12-2006, 06:10 AM
http://tim.cstj.net/etudiant/2004/0371030/cssZen/zengarden-sample.html


does anyone know why this layout shows perfectly fine in firefox, but in IE the menu and the content boxes seem to be over each other?

can anyone help me fix this?

thank you

Excavator
12-12-2006, 08:08 AM
Hello earth4x,
Not sure because it's kind of hard for me to edit on this machine and then go look at it with IE6 on another machine. I just thought there was some odd spacing going on so I removed the 17px left padding from #container and the left: 17px from #linkList.
Still looks good that way on FF2.

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-12-2006, 08:39 AM
Excavator you do know you can run IE7 and IE6 on the same machine?

Excavator
12-12-2006, 09:05 AM
I never tried it, IE6 and 7 on Vista, thought I read somewhere that you couldn't.

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-12-2006, 09:18 AM
You can run a standalone version of IE6: http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/32bit/standalone

You should be able to get it to work like normal by making a few registry tweaks. Read this to learn more

http://www.positioniseverything.net/articles/multiIE.html

@earth I am getting a horizontal scrollbar in IE6.

earth4x
12-12-2006, 06:12 PM
@earth I am getting a horizontal scrollbar in IE6.[/QUOTE]

what the hell!!! lol

I don't have one :/

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-12-2006, 06:38 PM
Okay now I'm getting one in Firefox. What is your resolution? Mine is 1024x768. It seems like you may have designed using your own resolution and not thinking about smaller ones.

earth4x
12-13-2006, 12:54 AM
Okay now I'm getting one in Firefox. What is your resolution? Mine is 1024x768. It seems like you may have designed using your own resolution and not thinking about smaller ones.

I'm running in 1280*1024.. I did design it for myself, I was planning on making it fit for all resolutions, but I want to fix this problem first :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum