...

View Full Version : blank image link css rollover



alimagik
12-11-2006, 02:37 AM
I have been banging my head aginst my desk for two days trying to figure out what I am doing wrong here. I've done this several times before, and it has always worked. For some reason, it's not showing up in forefox, but works fine in IE. (weird, I know)

.home a:link, .home a:visited, .home a:active, { background-image: url(http://www.brandsmithapparel.com/cp/images/home.gif); width: 174px; height: 73px; display: block; }

.home a:hover { background-position: 0 -73px; }

<td class="home" height="73" valign="middle"><a href="http://www.cafepress.com/brandsmith"><img src="http://www.brandsmithapparel.com/cp/images/homeblank.gif" height="73" width="174" border="0"></a></td>


For complete code, see http://www.brandsmithapparel.com/cp/blank.html Try looking at it in both browsers to see what I mean.

Thanx much

Arbitrator
12-11-2006, 01:07 PM
It looks messed up in Firefox 2, of course. I can’t say that it looks right in Internet Explorer 7 either though. In addition to the right column being out of alignment, I had to load it over and over in Internet Explorer to get the images to show up and the main background image still won’t show.

Looks like the main background image not showing up issue that I was experiencing was due to me being on dial‐up and that image being nearly a megabyte in file size.
As for a solution, I suppose it might help if both your XHTML and CSS were valid…

(X)HTML Validator (http://validator.w3.org/)
CSS Validator (http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/)

alimagik
12-11-2006, 03:24 PM
I think I gave you the wrong link- The columns didn't line up because there was no content in the main area. I would so appreciate it if you would look again at http://www.cafepress.com/brandsmith.

Thanks for the feedback about the background image though - I'll work on that.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum