...

View Full Version : Problems with fluid content



karinne
12-04-2006, 01:56 PM
Not sure what I'm doing wrong here. The content columns starts under my menu and for the life of me, I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I've probably just been staring at it for too long. The content (that black and blue menu and the title) should be sitting right beside the side menu.

* snip link

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also ... using % for the side menu is not an option. The width that's there has to stay.

Thanks.

karinne
12-04-2006, 02:43 PM
Ok ... I almost have it working now. I had a clear: both; in my ul stuff...

Now the menu in FF is not wrapping properly; there one blue box on the same line as the black ones when it should be on the next line with the other

And in IE, the menu is WAAAY up there

Excavator
12-04-2006, 04:27 PM
Hello karine,
I changed the width on 2 of your divs and it seems to work now...


#content #topmenus
{
height: 40px;
margin-bottom: 35px;
width: 450px;
}

#topmenus ul.blackmenu, #topmenus ul.bluemenu
{
list-style: none;
padding: 0;
/*clear: both;*/
width: 450px;
}

I also noticed that the height/width specifications are listed backwards in your HTML.
Should be <img src="index_files/ServiceCanada.gif" width="286" height="30" class="servcan">

Instead of <img src="index_files/GovCanada2.jpg" alt="" class="govcan" height="31" width="85">
-I have no idea if that makes any difference though.

karinne
12-04-2006, 05:41 PM
Hello karine,
I changed the width on 2 of your divs and it seems to work now...


#content #topmenus
{
height: 40px;
margin-bottom: 35px;
width: 450px;
}

#topmenus ul.blackmenu, #topmenus ul.bluemenu
{
list-style: none;
padding: 0;
/*clear: both;*/
width: 450px;
}

Ah ... thanks for that. Now it's ok in FF but the menu is still appearing over my images in IE.


I also noticed that the height/width specifications are listed backwards in your HTML.
Should be <img src="index_files/ServiceCanada.gif" width="286" height="30" class="servcan">

Instead of <img src="index_files/GovCanada2.jpg" alt="" class="govcan" height="31" width="85">
-I have no idea if that makes any difference though.

That won't change a thing. Attributes don't have to be in a specific order.

Thanks for helping! It's almost working :cool:

Excavator
12-04-2006, 07:29 PM
Must be an IE6 thing? Menu appears to be in the right place here on FF and IE7.

karinne
12-05-2006, 12:59 PM
I found my answer. It was a hasLayout problem and resolved by adding

ul.blackmenu li a, ul.bluemenu li a,#content {height: 1%;}

Excavator
12-05-2006, 05:13 PM
Thanks for posting back karinne!!! I'm researching haslayout now - I've run into it before but I guess I don't know enough about it to recognize it when it's staring right at me.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum