...

View Full Version : Newbie to PHP



ahallicks
11-12-2006, 03:28 PM
Hey guys,

I use PHP pages at work, but basically simply put the html on to pages that already have the PHP so I don't know anything about it. I use includes to make my pages smaller via the <? require ?> script and have starting building sites at home and want to use this function there.

I've had a look round the net and it seems that I need something on my server to recognise php pages as at the moment if a php page loads it give a directory page of my website and does not actually show the page. Do I need something at the top of my page to let the browser know it's a php page?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

ttttt
11-12-2006, 03:38 PM
Well, you need to call your pages whatever.php, and you need a webserver and php installed.
I recommend apache for a webserver, and if you can't be bothered to install and configure everything, I recommend VertrigoServ as a good auto installer.

ess
11-12-2006, 07:03 PM
The easiest thing to do...specially if you want some ready out of the box is to install WAMP (http://www.wampserver.com/en/)if you are using on windows...or Apache Friends (http://www.apachefriends.org/en/index.html) if you are using Mac or Linux.

Both packages come with Apache, PHP, Mysql.

Good luck
ess

ttttt
11-12-2006, 08:26 PM
The easiest thing to do...specially if you want some ready out of the box is to install WAMP (http://www.wampserver.com/en/)if you are using on windows...or Apache Friends (http://www.apachefriends.org/en/index.html) if you are using Mac or Linux.

Both packages come with Apache, PHP, Mysql.

Good luck
ess
Actually, I had a lot of problems with WAMP and have found VertrigoServ much better.

goughy000
11-12-2006, 09:48 PM
Actually, I had a lot of problems with WAMP and have found VertrigoServ much better.

i'v had no problems with WAMP

used apache friends in the past, thats good :thumbsup:


or you can just get hosting off the internet with all of this already set up for you! (www.freehostia.com)


as with the require function your page will look something like this codewise:


<?php
require("something.html");
?>

ahallicks
11-13-2006, 12:30 PM
That freehostia site, is that legit? You can actually sign up for a free server space to upload your site to? No payment at all? I'm asking because it doesn't sound right at all, especially being 250megs free!? Any ideas. Installed the server and everything worked except the Apache, which is annoying because that's the bit I need to work!

Might try the other thing you mentioned, WAMP.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum