...

View Full Version : AJAX Not Working in IE (6 or 7)



marcus1060
11-12-2006, 06:52 AM
If you goto http://noveis.net/bashs/apply.php#ship in Firefox or Opera, and select something (other then any) from the drop down menu next to 'Desired ship class:'
In a box to the right AJAX should load a page with some text.
It works in Firefox and Opera, but not in Internet Explorer 6 or 7.

A1ien51
11-12-2006, 03:44 PM
I went there in IE7 and got 5-7 error messages saying expected ")"

Eric

marcus1060
11-12-2006, 06:23 PM
I went there in IE7 and got 5-7 error messages saying expected ")"

Eric

How do you see error messages in IE?

CFMaBiSmAd
11-12-2006, 06:35 PM
For the error A1ien51 mentioned, these are javascript errors. There is a small yellow triangle in the lower-left-hand of the browser window that you can click on to see the details.

I also notice some output from your PHP code at the bottom of the page -

."\n" This is probably caused by an incorrectly formed string/some code after a closing ?> php tag.

marcus1060
11-12-2006, 06:37 PM
Thanks, I got rid of the \n.
Also I got rid of all the errors in IE, and it is still not working.

CFMaBiSmAd
11-12-2006, 07:25 PM
At the link in your first post, there are still javascript errors.

marcus1060
11-13-2006, 12:21 AM
OK, now I'm not getting an errors, but it's still not working.

marcus1060
11-13-2006, 01:21 AM
OK, I've managed to make it work.
I'm using these two functions:

<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function ship_goto( menuform )
{
var baseurl = "shipinfo.php?ship=" ;
selecteditem = menuform.ship_class.selectedIndex ;
ship_class = menuform.ship_class.options[ selecteditem ].value ;
if (ship_class.length != 0) {
//location.href = baseurl + newurl ;
ajaxpage(baseurl + ship_class, "shipinfo");
}
}

function alt_goto( menuform )
{
var baseurl = "shipinfo.php?ship=" ;
selecteditem = menuform.alt_class.selectedIndex ;
alt_class = menuform.alt_class.options[ selecteditem ].value ;
if (alt_class.length != 0) {
//location.href = baseurl + newurl ;
ajaxpage(baseurl + alt_class, "shipinfo");
}
}
//-->
</script>

And then I just do something like this:

<select name="ship_class" onchange="ship_goto(this.form)">



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum