...

View Full Version : google ads mess up blog in FF



croatiankid
11-05-2006, 09:22 PM
I don't think google can help me with this (yeah what customer service eh), so can you guys give a shot? This is such a weird-[bleep] problem. link. (http://www.croatiankid.com/blog/)
So view it in IE, everything's fine, I even got the "get firefox" referer ad. Sure, go ahead, get firefox and you can say goodbye to this nice layout. I'm sure it's caused by the ads that are placed in the white div. Now Idk if this is more of JS or HTMl, but since the ads are JS I thought to place this here. Here comes the weird part: view it in firefox, the layout is messed up (the divs don't expand with the content, because of the ads). now, press "restore" (between "minimize" and "exit", and you'll see magic: the layout is fixed! press maximize, and the layout stays fixed! but reload the page, and it's a mess again.
LOL
and thanks!

_Aerospace_Eng_
11-05-2006, 09:47 PM
I'm going to go with an html problem. Look at your code for the ads. See anything wrong? An unopened span tag perhaps?

<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-1021994113588969";
google_ad_width = 180;
google_ad_height = 90;
google_ad_format = "180x90_0ads_al_s";
google_ad_channel = "";
google_color_border = "32312C";
google_color_bg = "32312C";
google_color_link = "B9D0C2";
google_color_text = "B9D0C2";
google_color_url = "B9D0C2";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script><br /><br />
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-1021994113588969";
google_ad_width = 180;
google_ad_height = 60;
google_ad_format = "180x60_as_rimg";
google_cpa_choice = "CAAQ24Oy0QEaCGbgW7AaXRokKMu293M";
google_ad_channel = "";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script></span>
If you validate (http://validator.w3.org) your code you would have known this.

croatiankid
11-05-2006, 09:55 PM
irrelevant unfortunately, but thanks for pointing it out.
(it's left over when I tried to do something else earlier today)

_Aerospace_Eng_
11-05-2006, 10:07 PM
Hmm seems like Google might be creating some bad html causing it to mess up your columns in Firefox. I guess what you could do which is what I see most people do is put the ads in an iframe this way you know that google won't be generating bad code directly to your page.

croatiankid
11-05-2006, 10:10 PM
okay i'll do that and post the outcome tomorrow. thank you and goodnight!

croatiankid
11-05-2006, 10:23 PM
impatient me. it looks fine now, i just need to get rid of the scrollbars, and add it to the appropriate php files. thx!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum